Desserts · Food Gifts · Holidays & Special Occasions

Microwave Peanut Brittle

Peanut Brittle is so tasty, but can be a bit intimidating to make. Not only is a candy thermometer necessary, but constant attention and stirring is required.

It’s not that I am scared to use a candy thermometer, I do actually own one. It’s just a large pot of boiling sugar, bubbling and spurting all over my hand is not my idea of a fun way to spend the holidays. If there is an easier way, why not try it?

Years ago, I found a recipe for peanut brittle you can make in the microwave and I have been making it ever since. It is much simpler, however, microwaves can vary greatly depending on wattage, so you do have to adjust the cooking times accordingly. My microwave is 1200 watts, so your cooking times may vary. You want the peanut brittle to be a nice caramel brown color, but not burned.

I know it might seem odd you can make a great brittle in the microwave, but you can. And the result is a fabulous tasting and beautiful looking treat! You could also use tree nuts if you prefer. I believe cashew brittle is the most common, but I think almost any nut would work, including mixed nuts. If they are salted though, I would omit the salt in the recipe.

Microwave Peanut Brittle ready to eat!

Microwave Peanut Brittle

For easy clean up, spray the spoon and bowl with non-stick cooking spray. A silicone mat is also extremely helpful. In my experience, this recipe doesn’t double well.

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt (omit if using salted nuts)
  • 1 1/2 cups dry roasted peanuts
  • 1 TB butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  1. Grease a baking sheet or line with a silicone mat.
  2. In a glass bowl, I use a large pyrex measuring cup, place corn syrup in first, then pour the sugar on top. Microwave for 2 1/2 minutes; stir and add nuts, microwave 2 more minutes. Add butter and vanilla, stir and microwave 1 additional minute. Stir in baking soda (it will foam a little) and spread on prepared sheet quickly, as the brittle sets up fast. For easiest clean up, soak the bowl and spoon in hot water immediately.
  3. Allow brittle to set for 15 minutes or until very firm. Break into pieces and store in an airtight container or bag.

2 thoughts on “Microwave Peanut Brittle

  1. OK, this is a new one, thanks so much for sharing your method. I don’t make the stuff anymore because of the mess, I’ve gotten lazy. Wonder if I could make a reasonable facsimile of my Mom’s Almond Roca this way? Hmmm…

Leave a comment