Easy Food Gift Ideas

3

December 23, 2010 by Flora Dawn

 

 

If you have read my blog lately, you are probably aware of my fondness for food gifts. Of course I love food, but it’s not just that. I think we live in a really fast-paced, materialistic culture, especially around the holidays, and it is really nice to slow down and make a thoughtful gift for someone. And who doesn’t like good food? I mean, gluten free or not, great food is still great food.

I think it is a fun tradition to start with your family. Exchanging edible gifts is really considerate, inexpensive, and often downright entertaining.

So, instead of last minute Christmas shopping, I vote for last minute Christmas baking. The baking aisle is full of sale items and the kids will have a great time “helping” in the kitchen. Although a few of these recipes aren’t really too kid-friendly, my kids measure or stir the dry ingredients.

There are so many easy and inexpensive ideas for food gifts that it is really hard to choose. Here is a list of some of my favorites. After all there still is time to make something special for your friends and family.

And of course festive packaging makes it all the nicer. Typically I pick up pretty tins and baskets at the Dollar Tree or after-Christmas sales, but this year I found Martha Stewart gift boxes at Michael’s. Like all things Martha, they are beautiful, functional and classic. However, must people simply appreciate the gesture of a homemade treat, even if it’s wrapped in foil or in a ziploc bag 🙂

3 thoughts on “Easy Food Gift Ideas

  1. Lynn says:

    These all look good! I am sure mom and dad will enjoy them. I am going to have to look for those boxes for next year. Those are a great idea!

  2. Evie R. says:

    Those boxes are super cute and the treats look yummy, too! I’ll have to try the peanut brittle, since I’ve never made it before.

  3. Sophie says:

    I love to give food gifts as well! These 4 in a box look amazing, tasty & lovely too!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

