Easy Maple Syrup Candied Pecans (or walnuts)

3

May 4, 2013 by Flora Dawn

 

Okay, so I originally came up with this recipe out of necessity. Well, maybe that sounds a bit extreme. But I was making a Spinach & Strawberry Salad and really wanted candied pecans to go with it. The problem was, we had just started eating a Paleo style diet that week and brown sugar and corn syrup aren’t exactly part of the new plan.

Being the problem solver that I am, I decided to get creative and came up with this super simple, and super delicious stove top version of candied pecans. I opted for maple syrup because I love the flavor and being already liquid, it is easy to coat the pecans quickly. No waiting around for sugar to melt and all that nonsense. The stove top version is really quick and easy, but they are a bit sticky, if you prefer a more crunchy version, you could toss them in preheated oven (probably around 200) for 5-10 minutes just to toast them a bit more.

I highly recommend making small batches of these, because they’re pretty addictive.  I’ve also made walnuts this way, and they are equally delicious.

Although I originally made this for a salad topping, they are pretty darn good as a snack. And I would imagine they would make a great ice cream or pie topping. Can you imagine a handful of these guys on the top of a homemade sweet potato pie or pudding? Now, that would be delicious.

Candied Pecans

Easy Maple Syrup Candied Nuts:

You could add some vanilla, cinnamon, or even some heat (like cayenne) to get some really great flavors here.

  • 1 cup pecans or walnuts (pieces or halves)
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  1. Place a piece of parchment or waxed paper on a plate.
  2. Combine the nuts and maple syrup in a small saute pan. Heat over medium heat, stirring almost constantly, for about 3 minutes, or until the sauce is bubbly and the nuts are well coated.
  3. Remove from heat and place on parchment  to cool. Enjoy.
3 thoughts on “Easy Maple Syrup Candied Pecans (or walnuts)

  1. Drema says:

    Last time I had these I was at a good friends house. She did hers in the oven. I made them once because I have debilitating chronic fatigue now & every second is precious before I fall back into bed. I have a lot of food allergies & miss something ‘fun’ to eat. I can justify pecans or walnuts and maple syrup done in 3 minutes! Now I have something else I can eat other than certain veggies, local organic pastured red meat / pork & chicken. Thank you!

  2. Drema says:

    (sorry – add on to above – I’m sitting here enjoying the pecans in maple syrup I just whipped up and it’s like heaven to my food deprived taste buds! It’s glorious! Can’t wait to try walnut because they’re so good for you, too!)

  3. Flora says:

    Drema,
    I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the recipe! My husband is also on a very restricted diet right now due to his health issues, and it’s been so hard to find treats for him that actually taste good. This one of the rare finds I think 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,732 hits

Archives

Categories

