Strawberry & Spinach Salad

2

May 4, 2013 by Flora Dawn

 

We’ve had a nice break from the rain here in the Northwest and the local strawberries are already arriving at the produce stands! I usually have to wait another month or so to enjoy fresh, local berries, but I am not complaining about their early appearance this year.

I am not typically the type to combine fruit and vegetables into a toss salad, but we are eating a lot of produce lately, and I wanted to try something new.

This salad is so simple and so delicious. Much to my surprise my whole family really enjoyed the strawberry and spinach combination; however, my kindergartner did not care for the dressing. She’s not much of a poppy seed fan.

This salad is not only great tasting, but I think it’s really pretty, too! Although we enjoy it for an easy weeknight salad, it would also be perfect for a Spring brunch, Mother’s Day, or a shower.

The candied nuts are really optional, and obviously a less healthy choice than just using some lightly toasted nuts.  However, they are super easy to make and taste amazing. I suggest only making a small batch though, as they are rather addictive. I posted them separately, as I think they are great on their own as sweet snack or dessert topping.

spinach & strawberry salad 2

Strawberry & Spinach Salad

Ingredients:

Dressing:

  • juice from half a lemon
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon poppyseeds

 

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine the spinach, strawberries, and nuts. Toss to combine.
  2. For the dressing: in a small bowl or glass jar with a tight-fitting lid, combine the dressing ingredients and whisk together (or shake if using jar). Dress each salad portion right before serving.

 

2 thoughts on “Strawberry & Spinach Salad

  1. Kanak Hagjer says:

    Gorgeous colors on your salad! I’d love to make this, it’s just that the strawberries we get here are a little too tart for my liking.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,171 hits

Archives

Categories

