Peach Blueberry Pie

Leave a comment

March 16, 2013 by Flora Dawn

Peach Blueberry Pie Directions:

You want about 7 cups of fruit. I listed the measurements I used, but you could use more of less peaches (or all peaches) if you prefer.

  1. Heat oven to 425.
  2. In a large bowl combine the fruit, sugar, tapioca, cornstarch, lemon juice, and cinnamon. Allow to set 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Meanwhile,  on a well- floured (use gf flour blend or cornstarch) roll out the bottom crust for the pie and place in the pie pan. Spoon the fruit mixture into the crust-lined pan; if there is a lot of juice left in the bowl, just throw it out (a couple tablespoons is fine, but you don’t want a watery pie). Refrigerate while you prepare the top crust. Gently place the top crust over the fruit and flute edges or crimp with a fork.
  3. Bake pie in preheated oven for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and brush with milk (I used flax milk) or beaten egg. Sprinkle generously with granulated sugar and cover edges with strips of foil to prevent over browning. Return to oven and cook an additional 20-30 minutes or until golden brown.
  4. Allow to cool 2 hours (you can cut into it while warm, but it will be slightly runny).

Peach & Blueberry pie 3

Yesterday was March 14, or 3/14, or 3.14, making it Pi Day. If you were the one sleeping in the back of class during math period you may have no idea what is going on here, but just stay with me. It all ends with pie.

I had not intention of making a pie for Pi Day, because honestly I find the whole thing kind of absurd. But everywhere where I went Pi, Pi, Pi. It finally got to me and I just had to make pie. I am guessing the founders of Pi Day wanted to inspire me to do math, but baking involves math, so I guess it’s a win-win situation.

I have never made a peach blueberry pie before, but I really wanted a fruit pie and being March in the Pacific Northwest there aren’t a lot of fresh fruit options. And I didn’t want to go the store for apples. I only had 5 cups of frozen peaches so I threw in frozen blueberries to make the up remaining couple of cups. My family was a bit skeptical of my fruit combo, but it was a winner! We couldn’t even wait for it to cool completely to cut into it. Delicious.

Since I used frozen fruit, which tends to be very watery, I used plenty of tapioca and cornstarch. If you are using fresh fruit, you might want to reduce or eliminate the cornstarch. I hate a runny pie though, so I tend to error on the side of caution.

I know pie crust is one of the most dreaded of all baking projects. And yes, it does take a bit of patience, but you CAN make gluten-free pie crust, delicious, wonderful, flaky, gluten-free pie crust. My all-time favorite gluten-free crust recipe is this Butter Pie Crust. If you need this dessert to be dairy-free, my Allergy-Friendly Pie Crust works wonderfully; and it’s actually the crust pictured here.

Also, I think pies are prettier if they get an egg wash and some sugar on top. It browns nicer and has a little sparkle. Unfortunately my daughter has an egg allergy, so I used some flax milk and sugar. It worked perfectly fine. If you have some peach jelly you could use this too (just brush it on, no additional sugar needed). This is really just for looks, it’s not a necessary step.

Although apple is my go-to pie filling, I might have to reconsider, because this Peach and Blueberry Pie with frozen fruit is quite wonderful…and I you don’t even have to wait until summer.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend filled with great food. Happy gluten-free baking!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,732 hits

Archives

Categories

