Soft Ginger Cookies

1

January 7, 2013 by Flora Dawn

Soft Ginger Cookies Directions:

Although these cookies smell wonderful warm, they really do taste much better after cooling completely.

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment or a silicone mat.
  2. In a large bowl combine the flours, starches, xanthan gum, spices and salt.
  3. In another large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Add the egg, water, and molasses and stir until blended. Slowly stir in the dry ingredients and mix until well combined.
  4. Roll into balls and then roll in sugar to coat (I actually just dip one side and place this side upright on the cookie sheet so that the sugar is on the top of the cookie). Place on cookie sheet and flatten with your fingers. Bake in preheated oven for about 10 minutes. Allow to cool 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

 

 

 

soft ginger cookie stack

For my birthday, my husband and I headed to the beach for a short getaway. The Pacific Northwest has some beautiful coastline, but it’s not exactly flip-flop and beach towel kind of fun. More like rain gear and hot coffee. And that would be in the summer. I am sure you can imagine, December is much more, well, wet and chilly. So we really needed coffee.

We stopped into a local coffee roaster and I couldn’t resist having a giant soft ginger cookie. Being the only wheat eating member of my family, I rarely eat a “regular” cookie. It was one of those  giant bakery style cookies that is the size of a small pie.  But they call it one cookies, so who am I to argue.

Well, it was a really great tasting cookie. And although I am a huge fan of ginger snap cookies, there was nothing snappy about the texture; but rather it was soft and moist. I knew I had to come up with a gluten-free version my family could enjoy.

So today’s post is my take on Soft Ginger Cookies. I decided to make these a more modest size. After all, you can still eat 5 or 6 if you want to, but I didn’t really think we needed cookies the size of a saucer. I also omitted the chopped, candied ginger that was in the coffeehouse cookie. I like chunks of ginger, but I figured that was a little over the top for my family. If you love ginger, I say add a couple of tablespoons of finely chopped candied ginger to the dough before baking.

I have made these with an egg and with applesauce as an egg substitute, and I have to admit, my family preferred the applesauce version. But egg or no egg, these cookies are delicious.

 

 

One thought on “Soft Ginger Cookies

  1. […] Soft Ginger Cookies from In Flora’s Kitchen ~ gluten free, with dairy-free, egg-free, vegan options […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

