Cranberrylets

5

December 13, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Cranberrylets Directions:

We’ve always dusted these in confectioners’ sugar, but I think extra fine granulated sugar would make these really sparkle.

  1. Grease an 8 inch square pan.
  2. In a medium saucepan, stir together the cranberry sauce, jello, gelatin, sugar and vanilla. Bring to a boil and stir constantly until jello and sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and stir in nuts.
  3. Pour into prepared pan and set uncovered or (loosely cover with plastic wrap) overnight on counter. Remove from pan and cut into small squares. Roll into confectioners’ sugar.

I have no idea where this recipe originated, but my dad’s sister is in her eighties and has been making these candies for as long as anyone can remember.

I have seen and tried similar recipes, but to be honest, her version is by far my favorite. They are sweet and flavorful with just the right amount of citrus. They are quite similar to Aplets & Cotlets, but of course being homemade, they are even better.

This recipe does contain a fair amount of gelatin products, however, Jello is a Kraft product and they have great labeling, so it is my go-to brand for the flavored gelatin. I am guessing there are other gluten-free gelatins out there, but you’ll want to read the labels.

So here it is, one of the few recipes you’ll find on my blog that I have left unchanged from the original. I even left their name. But honestly, I was tempted to call these Cranberry Walnut Jellies,  but why mess with tradition?

cranberrylets 2

 

5 thoughts on “Cranberrylets

  1. Poppie says:

    A couple questions concerning this recipe. I plan on making them today but I am unsure of what size pan to use and how to “prepare it” and if the pan sits uncovered overnight in the refridgerator or on the counter. Thank you in advance for your help!

  2. Poppie says:

    Thank you! I’m making these tonight and will post a review when we sample them.

  3. Poppie says:

    I have to admit that when I tasted the warm syrup from this recipe I had my doubts but today I finally got to sample them….I am amazed! Your aunt gifted you (and now me) with the best recipe yet. I made two batches, one with nuts and one without. By far, the one with nuts is the best. Nuts break up the intensity of the flavor and give it a nice texture but my guy cannot eat them. I will find something to substitute for walnuts but until then he’s very happy with his Cran-letts.

  4. Flora says:

    Poppie, thanks for letting me know you enjoyed these! My kids are allergic to nuts too, so I just make these for the grownups and to give away. Let me know if you find a good nut substitute; so far I haven’t come up with any good ideas.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,902 hits

Archives

Categories

