Gluten-Free Spritz Cookies

2

November 24, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Spritz Cookies Directions:

I provided suggestions for dairy-free and egg-free substitutes that I have uses successfully in this recipe.

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg (or the substitute) and extract, stir to combine. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until well combined. Add food coloring if desired. Do not refrigerate the dough, or it will be too firm to press through the cookie press.
  3. Follow the directions for your cookie press and bake in preheated oven for 8-10 minutes, but don’t brown.

*I have learned that cool or cold cookie sheets (not lined with parchment or anything) works best for getting the cookie press to release the cookies neatly. Also, the first few cookies are typically ugly, until you get into a rhythm; for my cookie press I have discovered that counting out how long to press the trigger down for each cookie is essential to achieve uniform cookies. And of course when you change discs you have to readjust.

I have one of those fancy cookie press guns that produce cute shapes, perfect for the holidays. Well, my oldest daughter always loved making Buttery Spritz Cookies and coloring the dough for the appropriate holiday.

Since going gluten-free we haven’t been able to enjoy the tradition, so this year when a reader, Tami, commented on Facebook that she would like a good spritz cookie for her cookie press, I decided it was time to convert my old favorite recipe.

The dough was easy to work with and the cookies taste like we remember; however, since it has been a few years since I have dusted off the old cookie press, there was  bit of learning curve on operating the thing again. I had to pull out the directions and exhibit a bit of patience. But in the end, we had cute and tasty Spritz Cookies once again.

If you don’t have a cookie press you could use this recipe for rollout cookies or  use a pastry bag with a large star tip to create similar shapes.

I don’t keep food coloring on hand, so I didn’t have red or green in my cupboard. However, my kids typically enjoy coloring these cookies a vibrant shade of green and using red hots, or some other small candies, to create holiday wreaths.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Spritz Cookies

  1. Julie says:

    I see the directions, but no ingredient list! I would love to make these! Thank you!

    • Flora says:

      Julie, are you looking at the post from a RSS feed? I know that the ingredients don’t show up that way, you have to actually come to my blog post to see the post in its entirety. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

