Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes

1

November 19, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes Directions:

I made this dairy-free by replacing the butter with Best Life Buttery Sticks.

  1. Peel and cut sweet potatoes into chunks. Place in a large saucepan, cover with water, and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat and simmer until fork tender, about 20-25 minutes.  Drain and place in a large, heat proof bowl.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and mash with a potato masher (or use an electric mixer). Serve hot.

I love sweet potatoes, so when I saw a recipe for a maple mashed sweet potato dish I was all ears! Seriously, sweet potatoes, butter and maple syrup, how can that produce anything short of amazing?

Today’s recipe is my take on a recipe from Saveur. They are sweet, more like a dessert than a side, but I much prefer this version to the marshmallow topped casserole that typically adorns my holiday table. It is still sweet and flavorful, but a more grownup take on the classic.

We ate these immediately, but if you need to make these ahead, I think they would reheat in the oven fine or maybe kept warm in a slow cooker for several hours.

 

One thought on “Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes

  1. Ilene says:

    I tried these and they were great. I eat
    sweet potatoes a lot this time and year and
    by far these had the most flavor so thanks
    for the nice tip on the maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,910 hits

Archives

Categories

