Spaghetti with Pancetta & Tomatoes

7

November 2, 2012 by Flora Dawn

 

Spaghetti with Pancetta & Tomatoes Directions:

  1. Heat a large pot of water for pasta.
  2. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add pancetta and cook, stirring often, until browned and crispy, about 7-10 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, remove cooked pancetta and drain on a paper towel-lined plate. Leave drippings in pan.
  3. Add onions and bell peppers to saucepan with the dripping and continue to cook over medium heat until soft and slightly browned, about 5 minutes. Reduce heat to low and add garlic, cooking until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add tomatoes and continue to cook until thickened. Taste and add red pepper flakes, salt and pepper if desired. Add some of the reserved tomato liquid to reach desired consistency for sauce (I add about 1/4 cup). Continue to cook on low for at least 5-10 minutes to blend the flavors, adding more reserved tomato liquid if needed. While the sauce is simmering, cook the pasta according to the package directions (I boil it for 11 minutes).
  4. Serve sauce over hot pasta, sprinkle with cooked pancetta and garnish with grated cheese and fresh herbs if desired.

 

My family loves Italian food, especially pasta, so when I was asked if I would try Heartland Gluten Free Pasta, I was excited. Heartland uses a blend of rice and corn, maintains good manufacturing practices, and is very affordable. So the big question: how does it taste?

After trying all three products (spaghetti, fusilli, and penne), I am very pleased to report that my family thinks Heartland Gluten Free Pasta tastes great. It really does have the appearance, texture, taste, and cook time of traditional pasta. It is delicious served immediately after boiling and draining; however, it can also withstand going into the oven for a yummy, cheesy baked pasta dish without getting mushy.

It’s honestly the best gluten-free pasta I have had, and the first gluten-free pasta I have felt comfortable serving to company. In fact, I have served it to gluten-eating guests on two separate occasions and everyone raved about how normal it tasted.

If you are looking for a traditional tasting and affordable gluten-free pasta, Heartland is the perfect choice.

Heartland has a product locator tool on their website, and I have also found it at my local Walmart and on Amazon.

So when you finally have a really delicious gluten-free pasta, you need an equally delicious sauce. Spaghetti with Pancetta and Tomatoes is full of flavor, yet simple enough to make for a weeknight meal.

If you’ve never cooked with pancetta, you should really give it a try. It’s available at most grocery stores, often prepackaged with the nicer quality meats and cheeses. However, many meat counters have it too, where you can get it sliced to order, which is how I prefer to buy it. It’s often called Italian Bacon, but it isn’t smoked like typical American bacon; instead, it’s cured in salt and spices. Pancetta has a really nice meaty, but not smokey, flavor.  However, if you prefer, you could replace the pancetta in this recipe with bacon.

For more information about Heartland Pasta and their gluten-free product line, visit their website, or connect with them via  Facebook and  Twitter.

 

This post was sponsored by Heartland Pasta; however, the thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Spaghetti with Pancetta & Tomatoes

  1. Evie says:

    This recipe looks very yummy! The Heartland pasta I tried was awesome and even reheated well the next day!

  2. Lynn says:

    Heatland pasta has become my family’s favorite gluten free pasta. We love it!

  3. Celiac Kiddo says:

    Looks so good! Can’t wait to try.

  4. Abby says:

    I just tried this pasta with my sister, and it was VERY tasty. I love that brand!

  5. Ilene says:

    I had this pasta this past month, it was just great. One would not
    know that it was gluten free by the taste of it.

  6. Chris says:

    I am COMPLETELY PSYCHED that I wandered around lynnskitchenadventures today because I FOUND YOU AND THIS PASTA! I just did a search and, lo and behold, it’s supposed to be right here under my nose! I’m heading out to look TODAY!!! THANK YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

