Grandma’s Apple Cake

6

September 28, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Grandma’s Apple Cake Directions:

Although it’s great as written, I think a crumb, nut, or oat topping would be wonderful too!

  1. Grease an 8×8 cake pan (or similar size baking dish) and preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a large bowl combine the oil and sugar. Stir with a wooden spoon until well blended. Add the cinnamon, baking soda, rice flour, cornstarch and egg (or applesauce + b powder), stir well. The mixture will be very dry. Stir in the apples.
  3. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center tests clean. Allow to cool before slicing.

I love cookbooks and food magazines , with all there glossy, colorful food photographs. And I can’t wait to read and try all the new recipes, latest culinary trends, and so forth.

However, it seems to me that the best recipes typically come from those dusty, old recipe boxes that belonged to Grandma or her sister. Food was simple and seasonal. Forgot a mile-long ingredient list that require a special trip to the store, these folks cooked with everyday ingredients they already had on hand.

Last time I was visiting my parents’  house my mom suggested I try to adapt my grandmothers Apple Pudding recipe to be gluten-free; she thought my kids would enjoy it. In fact, it’s a one-bowl kind of recipe that even a kid could make by themselves.

I am not sure why it was originally called a pudding, because there isn’t anything pudding-like about it. So I renamed it to Grandma’s Apple Cake to be less confusing.

My gluten-free version is soft, moist, and full of apple flavor. I think I might just have to go through Grandma’s recipe box more often.

6 thoughts on “Grandma’s Apple Cake

  1. Poppie says:

    I made your Grandma’s Apple Cake recipe yesterday and it turned out wonderful! This recipe is a keeper as it makes a moist cake that is still light and sweet. I used Bette Hagman’s gluten free flour blend and doubled the recipe to fill a 9×14 pan. Three of us are allergic to wheat and my daughter is allergic to eggs. Thank you!!

  2. Ilene says:

    I am so glad it worked for you, It is a great
    old apple cake.

  3. Peggy says:

    Dear Flora: I was so pleased to see this apple cake as I love all things apple.
    I followed the directions to a T.
    After it cooled I went to cut it and it fell apart.
    It was so dry I could hardly believe it.
    Unless you got a piece of apple in your month you could not even swallow it.
    Could you give me some idea as to why it could have come out so dry.??
    Thanks,,,,,,,,,,,(Peggy (from Florida)

    • admin says:

      Peggy, I am sorry to hear the cake wasn’t moist. Do you think the apples were too old or dry? I have made it multiple times and never had a problem. I typically use a good eating apple or Granny Smith. As long as you didn’t forget the oil or overcook it I can’t really think of anything else.

  4. Peggy says:

    Flora:
    I used fresh Granny Smith apples
    did not forget the oil etc…
    Did not over cook it…..actually took it out around 32 mins. The cake tester was fine.
    I have been baking for 60 years. I am really stumped if I can’t bake a simple apple cake even if it is GF.
    You can’t even get it onto a fork it just crumbles it’s so dry.
    This is really strange.
    The taste was very good though.
    Peggy

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Archives

Categories

