Zucchini Blueberry Bread

4

September 10, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Zucchini Blueberry Bread Directions:

Although there is no real substitute for sweet rice flour, this bread is super moist (and I only used 1 TB anyway) so if you don’t have it on hand, I believe it could be replaced with 1 tablespoon of a starch you do have 🙂

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a bread pan.
  2. In a small dish, mix together the flaxseed meal and warm water. Add the brown sugar, oil, applesauce, and vanilla. Stir in the shredded zucchini.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  Add the dry ingredients into the zucchini mixture and stir until combined thoroughly. Stir in the blueberries. *If using frozen berries, it helps to toss them in a tablespoon or so of rice flour or cornstarch before stirring them into the batter; this helps prevent them from sinking to the bottom of the loaf. Personally, I omit this step when using fresh berries.
  4. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake until center tests clean, about 55-65 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely on a wire rack before slicing.

My sister makes an amazing Zucchini Blueberry Bread and I got the recipe from her years ago. However, I have never quite been able to replicate a gluten-free version. Then to complicate matters, my oldest daughter developed an egg allergy.  I am not sure if egg-free baking is always problematic, but I can assure you egg-free, gluten-free cooking is no walk in the park.

I don’t bake entirely egg-free, because honestly it’s just really difficult and she is old enough to find something else to eat without complaining too much. But I am trying to learn how bake egg-free simply so I can help her learn how to cook for herself, as she is going to have a life-long issue with food allergies. In my experience the vegan recipes are the best place to start if you need to bake egg-free or dairy-free (this recipe happens to be both). And truthfully, it is nice to be able to bake if you don’t have eggs on hand , or are trying to eat a low-cholesterol diet.

I combined a gluten-free zucchini bread recipe I already use with a vegan bread recipe I found on a blog and voila-a gluten-free, vegan, Zucchini Blueberry Bread that the whole family can enjoy. And honestly, this bread tastes great. The texture and flavor is exactly what you would expect from a zucchini quick bread; I don’t miss the eggs or dairy a bit. However, you could always slather a slice with your favorite butter or cream cheese. Of pour a glass of milk to go with it, if you are really needing your dairy fix.

You could of course omit the blueberries or exchange them for raisins, chocolate chips, nuts, or coconut. I just happen to be enjoying late summer with fresh zucchini and blueberries, so the combination seems only natural.

4 thoughts on “Zucchini Blueberry Bread

  1. Don’t you love a successful recipe! This looks beautiful and I’ve never had a version with blueberries. Very nice!

  2. Louise Braunbeck says:

    Flora,
    The kids and I are giving you two thumbs up/5+stars/Kudos for your Blueberry Zucchini Bread recipe. It was a joy to prepare and bake this recipe and have it turn out, after quite a few not so good recipe tries. I doubled your recipe with a few tweaks and made banana bread – WOW!- great again.

    Thank you so much, Aunt Louise

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

