Rustic Fruit Tart

Leave a comment

July 7, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Rustic Fruit Tart Directions:

I use my Butter Pie Crust recipe for this tart, it rolls out easily and tastes great; however, whatever pastry dough you prefer can be used.

  1. In a medium bowl combine the fruit, sugar, and tapioca. Let stand for 10 -15 minutes.
  2. On a lightly floured surface (parchment or a silicone mat work really well), roll our the pie crust into a 12-inch or so circle (it doesn’t have to be perfectly shaped).
  3. Spoon the fruit mixture into the middle of the rolled out pastry, leaving about a 3 inch border of dough. Gently fold edges of dough over fruit, leaving the center uncovered. The egg and water can be mixed with a fork and brushed onto the dough if desired (this will create a nicely browned and glossy tart). Sprinkle with sugar. Bake in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes or until pastry is golden brown and the filling is bubbling. Allow to cool slightly

I’ve always wanted to try a rustic fruit tart, but for some reason I have always just opted to make a traditional pie. Last week I had some extra pastry dough, but didn’t want to go to the trouble of making an actual pie, so I finally made a rustic fruit tart. It was so delicious, and best of all, so easy.

I am definitely a rustic fruit tart fan now! No crimping, no pie plate required. And if it leaks and oozes, oh well. It’s supposed to be rustic.

I used a mixture of strawberries, rhubarb, blackberries, and raspberries because that is what I had on hand. However, in the future I would omit the strawberries, and they got very soggy. I think just about any ripe fruit would work. I’ll be trying peaches or apricots next.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

