Horseradish Mashed Potatoes

Leave a comment

June 5, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Horseradish Mashed Potatoes Directions:

Depending on the brand of horseradish you use, you might need to adjust the amount as it varies in flavor.

  1. Peel and quarter potatoes. Place potatoes in a large pot and cover with tap water, add a few dashes of salt to the water; simmer for 20-25 minutes or until potatoes are very tender when pierced with a fork.
  2. While the potatoes are cooking, heat the half-and-half, butter, salt and pepper over low heat, making sure to melt the butter completely, but do not boil.
  3. Drain the potatoes and then immediately place them back in the hot pan on a heated burner for 30 seconds or so to remove any excess water (this prevents water-logged potatoes). Transfer the potatoes to a large bowl and add the hot milk mixture and horseradish. Using a potato masher or hand mixer, mix until desired texture is obtained. Taste and add more seasoning as desired. Serve warm.

Last month my husband and I had a nice dinner at  Sullivan’ in Seattle. His entire three course meal was gluten-free and delicious, including his horseradish mashed potatoes.

Honestly, when he chose the potatoes off the menu I cringed a little. Horseradish is great, but it’s like garlic to me, people get so carried away that the flavor often overpowers the entire dish. Well, at Sullivan’s they didn’t do that, the potatoes tasted amazing and I knew I had to figure out how to recreate this dish at home (especially being that I live almost 200 miles away).

The recipe I posted today is adapted from a Gourmet Magazine recipe. Oh how I miss Gourmet. At least I still have my big yellow The Gourmet Cookbook: More than 1000 recipes and all those free recipes at Epicurious.com! And I just have to add, I saw the current price for The Gourmet Cookbook at under $10, how crazy. Even with no pictures, this is one of my all-time favorite cookbooks.

Although these potatoes are great on their own, I topped them with a beef stew. It was sort of like an upside down Shepard’s Pie. It was quite delicous.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

