Microwave Chocolate Pudding

2

June 4, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Microwave Chocolate Pudding Directions:

  1. In a large, microwave-safe bowl (make sure the bowl is plenty large because the ingredients will expand a lot while heating), combine the sugar, cocoa, cornstarch, and salt. Add the milk and whisk until fairly smooth.
  2. Microwave on high for 2 minutes, stir and cook an additional 3-5 minutes or until thickened (stirring every minute or so). Remove from microwave and stir in vanilla. Allow to cool to warm before serving (or refrigerate to serve cold).

I rarely use the microwave for cooking, but my 5-year-old is sick and very grumpy. She didn’t want to eat anything, so I eventually offered to make some chocolate pudding. I wanted something quick, but still yummy enough for the youngest of food critics.

This version fit the bill.  I think it’s the perfect chocolate pudding for the kid in your life. Of course you might find yourself scraping the bowl too. It’s super quick and delicious, and still has a nice texture and is super shiny, so it could be used for a nice dessert.

If you’ve never made chocolate pudding from scratch, just know that it does form a thin film on the top as it cools; it doesn’t bother me, but you may choose to remove it before serving. If you prefer, you can press plastic wrap firmly on top of the pudding after it is done cooking, this will prevent the film from forming in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Microwave Chocolate Pudding

  1. Ilene says:

    I love this pudding, I mean love it!
    I have made it a number if times, and I think
    it is the best I have Ever made. It’s creamy, sweet and rich in flavor. I gave it to a friend and she agree
    best ever. I wonder if it would work with some
    other flavor, like lemon, or vanilla, going to
    work at it, but Oh so sooooo good as is.

    • Flora says:

      I am so happy to hear you like the pudding so much! I have also wondered if you could adapt the recipe to create new flavors, but I haven’t tried it yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

