Are you a better cook since going gluten-free?

1

June 4, 2012 by Flora Dawn

 

Instead of posting a recipe today, I thought I would ask a question. Are you a better cook since going gluten-free?

Truthfully, I’ve always enjoyed baking and cooking, but I have to admit, going gluten-free has taken a lot of the fun out of the kitchen. It now feels very much like a chore. Even though the term “gluten-free” is everywhere, really living a gluten-free lifestyle is difficult, time-consuming, and expensive. Not exactly the ingredients of a good time for me.

However, I have attended several gluten-free cooking classes over the last few years, and most of the participants stated they did not cook or bake much before going gluten-free. It was going gluten-free that gave them the reason to get cooking.  And it appeared to me they were very much enjoying it. And I have read several cookbooks where the authors claim going gluten-free was a fun challenge in the kitchen. I totally agree with the challenge part, not so sure about the fun.

What do you think, are you a better cook since going gluten-free? Is baking now more fun?

 

One thought on “Are you a better cook since going gluten-free?

  1. Lynn says:

    I am like you and in general love to cook, but I agree gluten free cooking, especially gluten free baking, has taken the fun out of it for me. But I think I am a better cook in the sense that I am more creative, because I have to be and I know more about the science behind the food since going gluten free. We also eat healthier in general I think because we eat more fruits, veggies, beans and rice, etc that are naturally gluten free.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

