Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

4

May 22, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Directions:

I actually cooked this at 400 degrees, but the top burnt some (I had to scrape it off), so I am reducing the recommended oven temperature to 350. If it isn’t browning well, you can always increase the temperature if needed.

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Place a rimmed baking dish on the lowest rack in your oven (you’ll want to bake the crisp on a middle rack), this will catch any drips that overflow.
  2. To make the topping: in a medium bowl combine the quinoa flakes, rice flour, flaxseed meal, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. Add butter and with a fork (or your fingers), work the butter into the dry ingredients; the mixture will be crumbly.
  3. In a large bowl combine the strawberries and rhubarb. Add the tapioca and granulated sugar and stir to coat evenly. Pour fruit mixture into a casserole dish (a 9×9 or similar dish should work) and top with the quinoa mixture, pressing down if needed to get it to all fit. Bake in preheated oven for about 40 minutes, or until the top is browned and the juices are bubbling. Serve warm (however cold leftovers are super delicious as well).

 

Spring in Oregon means several things: flowers begin blooming…which brings allergy season, rain keeps pouring…which brings mud and umbrellas, and rhubarb plants keep producing…which brings crisps and pies.

Okay, so maybe that is the Northwest simplified, but it’s pretty close to reality.

I realize that rhubarb is not exactly the star of the produce family, and has a bit of identity crises; is it a fruit or is it a vegetable? But my parents have a large patch outside the back porch and I grew up eating rhubarb pie and rhubarb crisp, so I suppose it’s a spring tradition for me. Well, and I get all the free rhubarb I want, so I have to do something with it.

But seriously, baking with rhubarb shouldn’t be scary. It is tart by itself, but when it’s mixed with berries and a fair amount of sugar, it’s quite delicious.

My husband can’t eat oats, so I opted to create a quinoa crisp. I added brown rice flour and flaxseed meal for both flavor and texture; and quite frankly I am tired of starches. The end result was a delicious crisp I think anyone would enjoy. If you can have oats, you could replace the quinoa flakes with gluten-free oats, but honestly, I think the quinoa brings its own special flavor and texture that is a nice change from the typical oat crisp.
Gluten-Free Wednesdays

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for sharing! You have inspired me to try this for dessert tomorrow for my 8 year old son who was recently diagnosed with Celiac. 😉

    • Flora says:

      Good Luck on your gluten-free journey. I know it can be very overwhelming in the beginning. I hope your family enjoys the recipe.

  2. Just discovered your blog through your sister’s blog. I love berry crisps, we just had a strawberry rhubarb one recently. I like your topping, I’ve never seen quinoa flakes but I can imagine the crispness and nutty flavor they would give. I’ll have to look for them at our co-op. I’m also impressed by how healthy this recipe is with the whole-grain rice flour, the quinoa, and the flaxseeds. Most GF recipes are more based on refined flours.

    • Flora says:

      Mary, Although you’ll find plenty of refined flours in my recipes, I am trying to make the transition to baking with whole grains. Hope you enjoy the recipe.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

