Rhubarb Muffins

2

May 14, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Gluten-Free Rhubarb Muffins Directions:

If replacing the buttermilk with soy milk, make sure to use unsweetened; I find it works much better for baking.

  1. Grease (or line with paper liners) a muffin tin. Preheat oven to 350. In a small bowl combine the sugar and cinnamon for the topping.
  2. In a large bowl, combine rice flour, cornstarch, xanthan gum, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, beat the egg, buttermilk, oil and vanilla. Stir buttermilk mixture into the dry ingredients until thoroughly combined. Fold in rhubarb. Fill muffin cups two-thirds full. Sprinkle generously with the cinnamon-sugar mixture.
  3.  Bake in preheated oven for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.

You know it is spring when the rhubarb is ready. I realize not everyone loves rhubarb, however, if you chop it small and bake a slightly sweet cake or muffin, it is hard to resist. I previously posted a family-favorite, Rhubarb Coffee Cake, but I decided it was time to make some rhubarb muffins as well.

I adapted a traditional rhubarb muffins recipe, and not only made it gluten-free, but dairy-free as well! I typically don’t use vinegar added to milk to make “buttermilk” as I feel it tastes different than buttermilk; however, when using soy milk I didn’t have much choice. It worked really well though, so it’s an easy dairy-free option.

I made a quick cinnamon-sugar topping to throw on the muffins before baking, just to add a little sweetness and crunch to the top. I had some raw sugar, which is much coarser than granulated sugar, so I used that; but any sugar would work fine.

These muffins are moist and flavorful. I think they are the perfect combination of a  little bit sweet and a little bit tart.

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Muffins

  1. veronica says:

    I LOVE rhubarb! And GF rhubarb is even better 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Karin Goodman says:

    I’ve made these and they are great!! I made my husband gluten filled apple cranberry muffins last week and am thing I will try to adapt this recipe to make gf apple cranberry muffings the rest of the family can enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

