Gluten-Free Scotcheroos

Leave a comment

April 24, 2012 by Flora Dawn

I know there are other gluten-free “crispy rice” cereals on the market, but let’s face it, they don’t quite have the snap, crackle, and pop you find with the original. So I have to be honest, I was more than a little excited when Kellogg’s brought gluten-free Rice Krispies to the marketplace.

The gluten-free version doesn’t taste exactly like the original, but they are close enough for me. Initially they were priced a bit outrageous in my opinion; but I am now able to find them on sale and with a coupon they are super affordable, probably some of the cheapest gluten-free cereal I have been able to buy.

Once you can bring back Rice Krispies to your diet, you know what that means…Rice Krispies Treats! And although I do love the Original Treats recipe, I have to say, the version with peanut butter is even better. Top it with a combination of chocolate and butterscotch chips, and you’ve got yourself a dessert that is sure to be a hit.

When using butterscotch chips, you want to really read labels; many brands contain gluten. I always use Guittard brand, as they are made in a gluten-free facility and I think they taste awesome. They are fairly easy to find at my area grocery stores, but if you can’t find them locally, it might be worth asking a store manager to carry the brand.

Although I made these in a standard 9×13 pan, if you have a slightly larger pan I would use it; they will be a bit thinner and easier to eat.

Directions

  1. Grease or spray a 9×13 pan.
  2. Place the corn syrup and sugar in a large saucepan (if you have a non-stick one, that would be best) and heat over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until the mixture boils and the sugar is dissolved; this takes several minutes. Remove from heat and add the peanut butter, stirring until smooth. Add the Rice Krispies and stir to combine. Pour mixture into prepared pan and press down evenly with a spatula or wooden spoon.
  3. In a microwave safe bowl, combine the chocolate and butterscotch chips and microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring as needed, until melted and smooth. Spread the chocolate mixture over the bars and allow to set until firm (I tried to throw them in the freezer to speed up this process, but then they were too hard to cut). Cut into desired sized pieces and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

