Lemon Blueberry Bread

10

April 12, 2012 by Flora Dawn

You know how those chain coffee shops have glass display cases full of enticing baked goods? Well, I got a glimpse of a blueberry bread with a lemon glaze and knew I had to create a gluten-free version.

So here it is. With lots of lemon and lots of blueberries, it’s a delicious quick bread that won’t cost you $2 a slice. And not only is it gluten-free, but I made it dairy-free as well. I think it’s the perfect quick bread. It’s super moist and flavorful, and the texture is perfect. Quite frankly, it’s one of my favorite gluten-free creations.

I made the mistake of preparing the batter, only to realize I had to leave the house in a few minutes; so the uncooked batter sat in the loaf pan on the counter for over an hour before making it into the oven. Fortunately for me, this error didn’t ruin the bread.  In fact I think it had the perfect crumb, so in the future I might purposefully let it rest a while before baking.

Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine oil, sugar, lemon juice, and eggs.  In a separate bowl combine the flours, cornstarch, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture, alternating with the milk ( half dry ingredients, milk, remaining dry ingredients), mixing well after each addition. Add blueberries and pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven until center tests clean, 45-55 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool 10 minutes before removing from pan. Cool on a wire rack.
  4. To make icing: in a small bowl combine 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and the 2 tablespoons lemon juice. Stir with a fork until smooth, adding more powdered sugar to get the desired consistency. Drizzle icing over top of cooled bread and allow to set for 5-10 minutes or until set before slicing the bread.

 

Gluten-Free Wednesdays

10 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Bread

  1. MtnHarmony says:

    Looks yummy!!

    I have everything except the sweet rice flour. Any suggestions of what else may work or what it would be like if I used just rice flour?

  2. Flora says:

    Unfortunately, I don’t know of a good substitute for sweet rice (aka glutinous rice flour or sticky rice flour). I think you could try to split the amount between a flour and starch; for example replace the 1/2 cup sweet rice with 1/4 cup rice flour and the other 1/4 cup with either potato starch, cornstarch, or arrowroot. You might want to use buttermilk instead of milk, just to add moisture. Let me know how it turns out! @MtnHarmony

  3. […] Lemon Blueberry Bread by In Flora’s Kitchen. I’m trying to avoid grains, starches and refined sugar (read the last link, above) but I’m not sure I will be able to resist making this yummy looking Quick Bread. […]

  4. Mariam says:

    Mmmmmmmm…..it looks fantastic!!!!! Just to ask…..don’t u think is it possible to make this cake with out eggs? What’s sweet rice flour? I don’t know…maybe in Italy is called in a different way…thanks for your help Maria Italy

    • Flora says:

      I have tried to replace the eggs with applesauce and it didn’t work so well (it was really heavy and the texture wasn’t right). Maybe a different egg replacement would work better? I’ll keep trying and update the post if I find something that works. My daughter is allergic to eggs, so I am definitely working on it 🙂

      Sweet rice flour is also called Mochiko or glutinous rice flour, it is used a lot in Asian cooking so you might be able to find it at a store that has a well stocked Asian grocery section.

  5. […] sister shared a Gluten Free Lemon Blueberry that looks really […]

  6. Donna Spencer says:

    I like anything with blueberries, and to add lemon sounds wonderful!

  7. Sarah says:

    I made this recipie – it was delicious. The only problem was that all the blueberries sank to the bottom of the bread….any tips on how to make them stay throughout the bread?

    • Flora says:

      I’ve had this problem with frozen blueberries, but not so much with fresh. If you toss the blueberries with a small amount or rice flour (or whatever flour blend you are using for a recipe) before stirring them into the batter it should prevent them from sinking. Hope it helps!

  8. […] & Cream Oatmeal Eggs, Sausage, Fresh Fruit Cereal & Fruit Homemade Granola, Fresh Fruit Lemon Blueberry Bread, Scrambled […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

