Baked Breaded Chicken

Leave a comment

April 5, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Baked Breaded Chicken Directions:

  1. Preaheat oven to 375; if you have a convection setting on your oven you should use it, it’ll help the coating to get nice and crisp. Grease or spay a rimmed baking sheet.
  2. I find it works best to use three shallow dishes (like pie plates or sandwich containers), using one container for each: sweet rice flour, egg wash, and panko crumbs. Dip one chicken piece in the sweet rice flour, dip into egg wash, and then coat with panko crumbs, pressing gently if necessary to get an even coating. Place on prepared baking sheet. Repeat the process with remaining chicken pieces.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes or until chicken is cooked thoroughly (I use a meat thermometer to check). If making chicken strips, reduce the cooking time to 15-20 minutes.

 

I have to admit there is something incredibly delicious about a piece of fried chicken. When executed correctly, you get a perfectly crispy coating with moist and flavorful meat inside. It’s no wonder fried chicken is considered American comfort food.

However, fried chicken is not exactly healthy. It’s really quite the opposite, so when I am craving fried chicken I typically make a baked chicken instead. You can actually achieve a pretty good version of baked “fried” chicken. However, I discovered that adapting my usual recipe to be gluten-free became a bit problematic. I couldn’t get the right flavor or texture and it was a bit expensive to keep experimenting with dinner, so I all but gave up.

Fortunately for me, I live in area with well-stocked gluten-free sections at my local grocery stores. And one day, wouldn’t you know, I found Kinnikinnick (could they get maybe one more n or k in that word?) brand Gluten-Free panko style bread crumbs!!! They also happen to be dairy-free and nut-free (they do contain eggs though).

If you have never used panko style crumbs, they are much coarser than traditional store-bought bread crumbs and they provide an airy, lighter texture to food (typically fried foods). And these particular gluten-free ones taste like bread crumbs, not weird like the other “bread” crumbs I’ve tried that are really just corn. They are not seasoned, so I do suggest adding seasoning salt of Italian seasoning to the crumbs before using.

The box does seem expensive, but you only need a small portion of the box per meal, so it should last you while. And although I am not a huge fan of processed gluten-free foods, this is one time-savor that I do keep in my pantry. Not only do I use these panko crumbs for chicken, but also for Baked Zucchini Sticks!

If you’ve been missing crispy baked chicken since going gluten-free, this panko crumbs are worth trying. This recipe is adapted from the back of the box and my family thinks it’s delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Archives

Categories

