Yummy Oatmeal Muffins

12

March 6, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Yummy Oatmeal Muffins Directions:

I used my Nearly Normal Blend of flour, but whatever your favorite all-purpose blend is, as long as it contains xanthan gum, it should work.

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Grease a 6-muffin pan.
  2. In a large bowl combine the oatmeal, egg, sugars, soda, vanilla and flaxseed meal if using, and flour. Stir with a wooden spoon to blend, adding 2-4 tablespoons water if needed to make the batter slightly runny (it should have a typical muffin batter consistency). Stir in chocolate chips, or raisins and cinnamon, if using.
  3. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until center tests clean. Remove from pan and cool on wire rack.

When I was a child, my mom would often make a big pot of oatmeal for breakfast. With four kids, I am sure it was a cheap and quick breakfast; but even with a spoonful of sugar and cinnamon, it was never my favorite food.

However, the leftover oatmeal would typically get transformed into something much better, muffins. These muffins were soft and moist and usually contained a healthy dose of cinnamon and raisins or, if we were lucky, chocolate chips.

For some reason my mom always called these Yucky Oatmeal Muffins. I am not sure where the recipe originated, or who was silly enough to put yucky in the name, so I renamed my version Yummy Oatmeal Muffins. I think that sounds much more appetizing, and let’s face it, people aren’t too eager to try gluten-free baked goods as it is, so putting a word like “yucky” in the title can’t be a good idea.

I altered the recipe to make it gluten-free, and they were even better than I remembered. I made 6 generous-sized muffins, however I think they would be a great lunchbox item if made into mini-muffins.

We thought these were great freshly baked. Although they are still quite tasty the next day, they do get rather sticky, so it’s best to eat leftovers with a fork. We opted to use mini chocolate chips in these, but raisins and cinnamon, or even some chopped apples would be great too.

Gluten-Free Wednesdays

12 thoughts on “Yummy Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Sure it is not a yucky muffin for me. As a mom, I am finding other ways for the kids to enjoy oatmeal. Thanks for sharing =)

  2. Lynn says:

    So glad these worked gluten free. I will have to try them.

  3. shelley says:

    Bake at what temp? They sound yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. JAYE says:

    What happens if you use a GF flour blend WITHOUT xanthan gum?

  5. Evie says:

    I like the name change : ) So glad your kids enjoy these, too!

  6. Ilene says:

    I am so glade that these worked so well, it is a old true and tested
    recipe from years gone by. I am sure that you could use most all kinds
    of hot cereal, I have used a few kinds down through the years.

  7. Sophie says:

    MMMM,…Your gf oatmeal muffins look so delectable & apart too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    A great breakfast!

  8. Linda says:

    Those muffins look wonderful. Thanks for sharing your recipe at Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

  9. […] Toast Waffles (YUM!)ย and Oatmeal Muffins from In Flora’s […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

