Gluten Free Favorites

Leave a comment

February 22, 2012 by Flora Dawn

Here are a few gluten-free foods that my family is enjoying these days. Although I can find these products locally, I realize not everyone might be as lucky so I’ve included links to amazon and if you click the image it goes to the products’ websites.

 

Snikiddy Snacks Grilled Cheese Puffs, 1-Ounce (Pack of 24)

If your kids are missing their old favorite neon orange cheese snacks, there is a gluten-free answer. I did contact the company about their gluten-free claim and they kindly replied that they test for gluten periodically. Which of course isn’t as great as testing every batch, but at least they are testing. My kids love these. I only buy them occasionally, but they are a lunchbox favorite at my house!


Sam Mills Pasta D’Oro Gluten Free Fettuccine, 1-Pound (Pack of 12)

This is by far my family’s favorite gluten-free pasta. It is corn pasta and has a much better texture and taste then any of the rice pasta we have tried (although there are some great ones out there too). If you can eat corn, this pasta is worth checking out. I particularly like the spaghetti and lasagne corte…not so fond of the rigatoni simply boiled, as it’s very firm; but the rigatoni and other tube pasta shapes do work very well in those oven baked pasta dishes. They soften up nicely, without falling apart like most gluten-free pastas. Yummy!

Snyder’s of Hanover Gluten Free All Natural Pretzel Sticks

If you’ve been missing pretzels, the folks at Snyder’s of Handover might be able to help. Although not exactly the same as regular pretzels, these are the closest thing we’ve tried. They are a little bit crunchier than typical pretzels, but no weird taste and although salty, not overly so. They are around $3 a bag , making them one of the more affordable gluten-free snacks we can find at the store; if you have to pay shipping, they are no longer such a bargain.

Gluten Free Mama, Mama’s Coconut Blend Flour, All Purpose Flour, 32-Ounce Pouches (Pack of 2)

My local grocery store carries Mama’s Coconut Blend Flour, so when it went on sale I decided to give it a try. There is something super convenient about not having to make your own blend or pull out 7 different flours/starches to bake a recipe. I’ve used it in several different recipes (pancakes, waffles, cookies, and brownies) and they have all turned out great. It is super fine, so no grit; however, it is fairly sweet, so I’m not sure I would use it in savory foods. Although I don’t really taste a strong coconut flavor with this blend, one of my kids dislikes coconut and notices whenever I use it, so if you have a coconut-hater in the house it may not be the best choice.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

