Easy Waffles

1

February 18, 2012 by Flora Dawn

I have a super easy, one-bowl waffle recipe that I have used for years. It’s one of those reliable, always great-tasting recipes that you never want to lose.

So, naturally when we went gluten-free I adapted this recipe for my family; all I had to do was trade out the all-purpose flour with a gluten-free blend. I’ve tried several of my all-purpose blends (like this one), and they all have worked. I’ve even used a store-bought blend (Gluten Free Mama, Mama’s Coconut Blend Flour) with great results! So my guess is any of your favorite, all-purpose gf blend will be fine here.

Recently, I’ve been exploring the world of dairy-free too. I’ve been using unsweetened soy milk in place of dairy milk in these waffles and it works wonderfully. But seriously, only bake with the unsweetened soy milk, or your baked goods will be overly sweet and have a strange after taste.

If you read my blog regularly, you know my teenager has an egg allergy, but to be honest, I just can’t get a tasty, gluten-free and egg-free waffle that the whole family enjoys; so she just eats something else when I make waffles for breakfast.

These really are simple and great tasting gluten-free waffles. They are soft and fluffy, with a slightly crisp exterior, just they way I think a homemade waffle should turn out! They are way better than any of the over-priced, oddly textured ones I’ve tried from the freezer section of the grocery store. And they are so much less expensive too.

Easy Waffles

*I originally posted this recipe with the wrong amount of flour, I sincerely apologize. The correct amount is now stated.

This recipe makes 5 waffles in my waffle iron, but yield may vary depending on the size of your waffle iron.

This recipe works best without xanthan gum; so using a flour blend that does not contain it is suggested.

  • 2 cup all-purpose gf flour blend
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups milk (unsweetened soy milk works great), or more as needed
  • 6 tablespoons canola or vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • dash of cinnamon, optional
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, optional
  1. In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Add the remaining ingredients and continue mixing until well blended (there will be a few lumps). Depending on your flour blend, your batter might need additional milk or water. Bake in preheated waffle iron until golden brown.
One thought on “Easy Waffles

  1. Margaret says:

    They are delicious! Give them a try. Thanks for a great recipe!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

