Root Beer Bundt Cake

11

January 14, 2012 by Flora Dawn

If you have a gluten-eating baker in your life, I can’t recommend the cookbook Baked: New Frontiers in Baking enough. It’s a gorgeous book, with over-the-top desserts and photos. Of course, we eat gluten-free, so I can’t exactly follow the recipes, but I can be inspired.

And when I was flipping through this cookbook and saw a photo for Root Beer Bundt Cake, inspired I was! I know the thought of root bear and chocolate might sound a bit odd, but I figured it would have a similar effect as adding coffee to chocolate deserts, it just enhances the chocolate and adds a little flavor; it’s not a competing flavor, it’s more of a complimentary flavor. And bundt cakes…oh how I love a good bundt cake. So today’s recipe is my gluten-free version of this awesome cake. As you might suspect, it goes amazingly well with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

I can’t say it tastes very much like root beer, it is a great chocolate cake with a subtle hint of root beer at best. Although we loved it, I might add a splash of root beer flavoring next time, just to kick up the flavor a bit. That being said, the flavor of the cake probably depends on the brand of root beer used (and I should mention that you want to check for gluten here, I have heard some brands contain gluten). I just used an inexpensive root beer, maybe a higher end soda would have produced a little stronger flavor, but I doubt it would be too significant.

I have never made the cookbook version, but my gluten-free version is dense, chocolaty, and very good. And the frosting, well, lets just say this stuff is almost too good. When you put the cake and the frosting together, you’ve got a win-win dessert.

It’s especially delicious cold, straight from the fridge with a nice tall glass of milk; maybe even for breakfast if you are having one of those mornings that can only be saved by chocolate.

Root Beer Bundt Cake may not be something you’ve heard of before, but it’s a fun chocolate cake that is sure to be a hit with the grownups and kids alike. In fact it’s so good, it’s what I made for my very own birthday cake!

Root Beer Bundt Cake

Just wanted to make an update: if you need this cake to be dairy free, you can substitute Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for the butter (in both the cake and the frosting). I tried it and it works great.

  • 2 cups root beer (not diet)
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup butter, cut into 1 tablespoon size pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups white rice flour
  • 3/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten (or substitute with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce)
  • Root Beer Fudge Frosting, optional but delicious!
  1. In a medium saucepan, heat the root beer, cocoa powder, and butter over medium heat, stirring often, until the butter is melted. Add the sugars and stir until dissolved. Remove from heat and allow to cool (it doesn’t need to get to room temperature, just cooled slightly, so it’s not extremely hot).
  2. Preheat oven to 325. Generously grease (or use a non-stick cooking spray) a bundt pan. In a bowl, combine the dry ingredients.
  3. Stir the eggs (or applesauce if using) into the warm chocolate mixture and stir until combined. Add the flour mixture and stir until incorporated (it’s okay if there are a few lumps).  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until the center tests clean. Remove cake from oven and run a plastic knife or small rubber spatula around the edges of the cake, making sure that the cake is loose from the pan. Turn the cake out onto a wire rack and allow to cool completely. Frost if desired before serving.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Root Beer Bundt Cake

  1. Lynn says:

    I never got a birthday cake last month, so I may just have to try this one soon. It looks really good.

  2. Lynn says:

    I made this and it was really good. I love the frosting!

  3. […] sister recently posted a recipe for root beer cake on her site and I knew right away that I needed to try […]

  4. Birgitte says:

    I made a huge batch of rootbeer and didn’t know what to do with the leftovers, this was perfect! I’m making it again today.

  5. sue fox says:

    the book u talk about baked- new frontiers- is that all gluten free baking? The root beer cake loks good- sue

  6. casandra says:

    is there another flour I could use, my son is allergic to wheat and rice.

    • Flora says:

      I have never made a gf cake with no rice flour, but Free For All Cooking by Jules Shepard does have a blend with various options. She suggests using millet or sorghum in place of rice if you can’t have it. A lot of people also use almond or coconut flours, although they are high in fat and have strong flavors (as does bean flours), so I would try gf oat flour, millet or sorghum personally. If I were going to attempt to make this rice-free, I would replace the 1 1/4 cups rice flour (which weighs 200 grams) with a blend of other flours your son can eat to equal 200 grams. I know weighing is a pain, but with baking it’s really about ratios, so you want the dry ingredients to weigh the same, and unfortunately the flours vary quite a bit. I think investing in an inexpensive kitchen scale would really help converting recipes. Good luck and let me know if it turns out!

  7. […] From Flora Dawn, we have this super moist and delicious Root Beer Bundt Cake. Flora says that “it’s a fun chocolate cake that is sure to be a hit with the grownups and kids […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

