Easy Chocolate-Peanut Fudge

2

January 2, 2012 by Flora Dawn

 

I love fudge, however, it’s no secret that it can be difficult to make. Like all candy-making, the weather (especially the humidity) can effect the outcome.

And then there is the temperature and the hard boil vs soft boil stages, using a candy thermometer, etc. It can all be a bit time consuming, and the end result is quite often less than stellar, even if you follow the directions!

So, when I saw this super easy fudge recipe in my Costco newsletter, I had to give it a try. First of all, I have to say that I typically don’t get my recipes, or my eating tips, from

Costco, but it was a Paula Deen recipe, so I felt fairly confident it would be a winner. And, it was! With only a handful of ingredients, you can whip up a batch of this fudge in no time. And it was a yucky, rainy day at my house no less!

It’s super smooth and creamy, with plenty of salted peanuts to add some texture and crunch. It’s really the easiest, and quite possibly, the best chocolate fudge I have made.

I know technically, fudge season has passed, but who said you can only make fudge in December?

 

Easy Chocolate-Peanut Fudge

I used dark chocolate chips, but semi-sweet or milk chocolate would also work great! Also, I think you could substitute any nut for the peanuts, if you prefer.

  • 2 cups chocolate chips (that’s one 12-ounce package)
  • 1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup salted peanuts
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Line an 8-inch square pan with foil so that the foil hangs over the edges of the pan; grease the foil with butter, oil, or cooking spray.
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the chocolate and milk, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and add butter, stirring until completety melted. Add peanuts and vanilla and stir to combine.
  3. Using a rubber spatula, pour into prepared pan, smoothing the top if necessary. Allow to cool slightly and then refrigerate until firm, at least 4 hours. Remove the fudge from the pan by lifting the foil. Peel foil back and place on a cutting board. Using a sharp knife, cut into 64 1-inch pieces. Store in the fridge in an airtight container or bag.

 

 

*I linked this recipe up to Sweets for a Saturday (the recipes aren’t all gluten-free, but there’s lots of tasty treats to admire anyway).

 

2 thoughts on “Easy Chocolate-Peanut Fudge

  1. That looks fudge-a-licious. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your fudge up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2012/01/sweets-for-saturday-51.html

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

