Pumpkin Bread

Leave a comment

November 11, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I love a good quick bread; part cake, part bread, and entirely delicious. And like the name implies, they are “quick” to pull together. Chances are you even have everything needed in the pantry, no special trip to the grocery store required.

Although banana bread is my go-to quick bread, this time of year I really enjoy pumpkin, so I was quite pleased with myself when I accomplished a perfectly moist, flavorful pumpkin bread last week. I didn’t actually invent this version entirely myself, it is my adaptation of an Elizabeth Barbone recipe and I agree with her name for it- Perfect Pumpkin Bread.

This bread is delicious as is (I should know, I ate almost an entire loaf myself), but I think some stir-ins, like chopped nuts, dried cranberries, or white chocolate chips, would make it extra special. Whether dressed up, or left plain, this recipe yields two loaves, making it the perfect choice for gift giving (or wrapping tightly and freezing for later).

I could not resist the smell of this bread, and sliced it before it completely cooled. Okay, so it did crumble some, but it was so good warm. It’s also very tasty at room temperature and stayed soft and moist for a couple days.

*Although I made an egg-free version of this recipe, it was really heavy; but I do have an egg-free pumpkin bread recipe that I previously posted. It’s very good also!

 

Pumpkin Bread

I think chopped nuts, dried cranberries, and/or white chocolate chips would make some great stir-ins before pouring the batter into the pans.

  • 2 1/2 cups white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1 rounded tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 1/2 cup orange juice (I use freshly squeezed)
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray or grease two 9×4 loaf/bread pans.
  2. In a large bowl (the bowl of your stand mixer would work great) whisk together rice flour, cornstarch, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, salt and xanthan gum.
  3. In a separate bowl mix together eggs, oil and orange juice; stir to combine. Add sugar and pumpkin and stir until thoroughly mixed together. Add pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients and mix on medium speed in a stand mixer (or use a good old wooden spoon and do some stirring) until all ingredients are thoroughly combined.
  4. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake for about 55-65 minutes or until toothpick tests clean. Place on wire rack to cool 10 minutes, then remove bread from pans and allow to cool on wire rack completely before slicing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

