Pumpkin Fudge

6

October 16, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I hope you aren’t tired of pumpkin recipes just yet, because I have another one today: Pumpkin Fudge.

When you think fudge, pumpkin is probably not the first thing that comes to mind, but with white chocolate, marshmallows, and plenty of spices, it really is delicious.

I am by no means a fudge-making expert. In fact, I tend to shy away from candy making that requires a thermometer, but I heard about pumpkin fudge a while back and I knew I had to give it a try.

I searched through all my baking books, but could not find a recipe. I decided the pumpkin fudge recipe from Libby’s Pumpkin would be a safe starting point, but of course I made a few changes.

I decided to add pure maple syrup, because I love the combination of maple & pumpkin, however you could omit it. I also think replacing half or all of the white chocolate chips with butterscotch chips would be a great alternative, as butterscotch and pumpkin are always great together. And if you like nuts in your fudge, some chopped walnuts or pecans would be a great added with the marshmallows and chips. Sorry, if that was too many suggestions. I just think this is a great basic recipe that has a lot of possibilities.

This is typical, sweet, smooth fudge…only spiced pumpkin flavor. And as you can imagine, making this recipe will fill your house with the amazing aroma of spiced pumpkin and white chocolate. It’s like one of those overpriced, over scented fall candles; but of course this is edible, which is far better in my opinion.

Happy Baking!

 

Pumpkin Fudge

This makes a 9×13 pan worth of fudge, so this is a perfect recipe to make and share. I use Guittard chips because they are made in a gluten-free facility.

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup butter, chopped into pieces
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 cups white chocolate chips
  • 7 ounces (about 4 cups) mini marshmallows
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup, optional
  1. Line a 9×13 pan with foil. Butter or spray the foil.
  2. In a large saucepan (non-stick works great here), combine the sugars, butter, milk, pumpkin, and pie spice. Stirring constantly (with a wooden spoon or a heat-resistant spatula), heat over medium to a full, rolling boil. This takes about 10 minutes or until candy thermometer reads 234-240F (soft ball stage).
  3. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate, marshmallows, and maple syrup if using. Stir until completely melted and incorporated evenly. Carefully pour into prepared pan and allow to cool at room temperature until set, about 2 hours. Refrigerate until chilled, about 2 more hours. Remove fudge from pan by gently lifting the foil and discarding. Cut into 1-inch pieces. (We think the fudge tastes best chilled).

 

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Fudge

  1. Abby says:

    This looks PERFECT!!!! I love anything pumpkin and I’m gluten free so fudge is one of the things I’m able to eat. Can’t wait to try this!

  2. Abby says:

    I’m making this!!! I LOVE PUMPKIN AND FUDGE!!!!

  3. Abby says:

    I NEED HELP!!! I made this this afternoon, and for some reason the fudge just won’t set up correctly. I cooked it to the right temp. and only made minor chances that I know for a fact won’t mess up the recipe! I don’t know what I did, and don’t know what to do now, please help me!

    • Flora says:

      I’ve made it several times and never had a problem with setting, however, I have heard that a rainy/humid day can ruin fudge as can incorrect temperature. Is it gritty or just not firm? Perhaps you can refrigerate or freeze it to get it to set up better. Sorry, not sure what went wrong.

  4. Abby says:

    That make sense, the weather was sorta humid yesterday when I made it. It’d not gritty, it’s really smooth, but it’s just very soft almost like a soft pudding. I left it in the freezer over night and when I took it out it was the same. I’m going to try it again on Sunday, and I’ll keep the weather in mind. Thanks!

  5. Flora says:

    Here is the link to the original recipe I based my version on. Maybe you’ll have better luck with it http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/143188/spiced-pumpkin-fudge/detail.aspx

    It uses marshmallow creme, which we can’t use.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

