Snickerdoodle Doughnuts

1

October 12, 2011 by Flora Dawn

If you’ve been to a national bookstore chain recently (okay, so the last decade), you’ve probably noticed there is more than just books inside. For some reason, they all seem to be home to a coffee shop. I guess it’s a good idea, what could be better than a cup of Joe and a good book?

Well, in the great northwest we apparently had to one up everyone. You see, my local libraries have doughnut shops inside nearly every county branch. Seriously. Why they want your greasy hands, covered in doughnut crumbs and leftover traces of icing and sprinkles inside the library (let alone the borrowed books) is beyond me. But this idea, my friends, is a hit with the kids. I mean, seriously, borrow some movies, books, and music from the library and get a fried piece of cake with sprinkles on top.

Now you would think I would have an easy out on this one, given my kids eat gluten-free. But no, it gets even better. I apparently live in magic land, where the library-dwelling doughnut shop elves create baked, gluten-free doughnuts daily. They happen to be dairy and egg-free as well. Apparently these crafty bakers even whip up diabetic doughnuts. I am not even sure what that means, as it seems like a complete oxymoron to me, but if you have a book-loving, doughnut-eating individual on your hands, my friendly neighborhood library/doughnut shop probably has you covered. And they only cost you a mere $3 a pop.

So, on our last library trip, with the smell of fresh doughnuts lingering in the air, my four year old starts whining at the self-check machine.  She really wanted a doughnut and is telling me (loudly, as only a four year old girl can quite do) with every book she carefully checks outs. The conversation went something like this:

“Please, I really want a gluten-free doughnut.”

“No.”

“Please, please, please.”

“No, just check out your books.”

“Puuulllleeezzze. Mommy, puullleeezze. I really, really, really want one.”

“No, we can make our own gluten-free doughnuts.”

“Okay. Let’s go home and make doughnuts.”

So, we went home and eventually baked up some doughnuts. Unfortunately for me, she envisioned chocolate doughnuts and another whining session would ensue, but the good news is, in the end everyone was happy with our cinnamon-sugar covered creations. I think they taste just like a doughnut version of a snickerdoodle, hence the name.

If you don’t own a doughnut pan already, what are you waiting for? They only cost around $10 and you can bake your favorite cupcake recipes in it too. If you have kids, I think a doughnut pan is almost a necessity. Unless of course you live in my county and then you could always just go to the library.

Snickerdoodle Doughnuts

Makes 12 doughnuts

*I’ve also made these egg free, by substituting 1/4 cup plain Greek Yogurt for each egg (the full-fat yogurt). They were a little less light and airy, but still very good.

  • 3/4 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 1/2 cup milk

Cinnamon-Sugar Coating:

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease doughnut pan (I have a 6-doughnut pan, so I have to make two batches).
  2. In a large bowl whisk the flour, starches, xanthan gum, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, vanilla, oil, and milk until smooth. Add the liquid mixture into the dry ingredients and stir to combine.
  4. Fill each doughnut well about half full; the batter is pretty thick, so I use my fingers to spread it evenly around the “O” shape. Bake for 15 minutes, or until toothpick tests clean.
  5. While doughnuts are baking, in a small bowl or shallow dish, combine the coating ingredients.
  6. Remove doughnuts from pan and one at a time coat in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I find this works best if the doughnuts are still very, very warm, but if you don’t want to risk burning your hands, you can let the doughnuts cool on a wire rack some before coating them.

 

One thought on “Snickerdoodle Doughnuts

  1. Lynn says:

    I really need to get a doughnut pan. My kids would love these!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

