Menu Plan 10/3-10/9

2

October 2, 2011 by Flora Dawn

In September, after seven years of homeschooling full-time, my 11th grader started an early college program,while my 4 year old is attending a Spanish immersion preschool (both things are all the way across town). Add into the equation music lessons, orchestra, and all the other misc things, and the result has been a really busy schedule (mostly involving me chauffeuring my kids around town).

So, although I am still technically a stay-at-home mom, I am rarely home before 5 pm and I can now fully relate to working parents everywhere. How on Earth do you get a healthy, well-balanced meal on table in a timely fashion (let alone a gluten-free one )? Oh, and it would be nice if it were something the whole family will eat without any moans and groans.

Unfortunately I don’t have all the answers, but so far I have discovered you have to be pretty well organized and have a well-stocked pantry (and freezer); not to mention some meals you can whip up without much thought (things like fried rice or spaghetti).

After a very hectic week last week, I opted to grocery shop and spend the weekend catching up on housework and cooking. Okay, so not exactly a relaxing weekend, but I am hoping having a few meals started will help the 5 o’clock dinner madness that is sure to ensue.

I decided the easiest thing to do was prepare some meat in advance and throw it in the freezer until needed. I marinaded a pork roast, cooked up some meat for chili, prepared some meatballs, and browned up taco meat. I realized that this approach is a bit meat heavy, so this is not a menu I plan on repeating much. But for this week, it will have to do.

Monday:
Pork Roast & Quinoa

Tuesday:

White Bean & Chicken Soup with chips.

Wednesday:

Leftovers

Thursday:

Spaghetti & Meatballs

Friday:

Chili Cheese Fries

Saturday:

Taco Salad

Sunday:

Stir Fry (or something else meatless)

 


Menu Plan Monday

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan 10/3-10/9

  1. Ilene says:

    Good Luck Flora, it is only 11 weeks to go????

    • Flora says:

      The college terms are fairly short, so hopefully next quarter we can get a better schedule figured out. Thanks for wishing me luck, I think I need it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

