Do you eat oats?

5

September 28, 2011 by Flora Dawn

oatmeal Pictures, Images and Photos

The great Oat Debate. Should Celiacs eat oats or not?

Unfortunately, the more research I do about oats, the more questions I have. I am not an expert or health professional, just a stay at home mom cooking 3 gluten-free meals a day; and then there are snacks and desserts. Let’s just say over the last two years I have created a LOT of gluten-free dishes.  I am really trying my best to make delicious and safe food for my family.

I thought I had the whole oat thing figured out, after all, most new cookbooks say cross-contamination is the issue, not oats themselves. And then there is the “gluten-free oats.” I mean if they can say “gluten-free” they must be okay, right? Well, it seems as if America is one of the few places (perhaps even the only country) that actually allows oats to ever be labeled gluten-free.

My husband doesn’t eat oats, he says he doesn’t care what they are labeled, they make him feel like he ate gluten. So I started thinking and reading about oats and a gluten-free diet and I would love your thoughts on the subject.

So Readers, do you eat oats? And if so do you limit the amount you eat?

 

Here are a few articles I came across recently that got me questioning the oat issue:

Should Celiacs Eat Oats? Depends on the Oat  by Diana Gitig Ph.D.

The Scoop on Oats by the Celiac Sprue Association

Should celiac sufferers be allowed their oats?
Heather Julia Ellis and Paul J. Ciclitira

Canada’s food labeling laws (gluten-free is section 9.9.4)

 


5 thoughts on “Do you eat oats?

  1. Lynn says:

    I agree the whole oat debate is confusing. I can eat some oats, but if I eat a lot they seem to bother me. It is not like gluten for me though, it seems to be more of a digestion issue, so the symptoms are different than what happens when I eat gluten. I do watch how many I eat of them though and try not too eat very many in one day. I need to do more research on it, so thanks for the links. I am curious what others will have to say.

  2. Sherry says:

    I eat oats in granola bars or no bake cookies. I have not tried oatmeal outright. The debate about oats is very confusing. I did try eating Lucky Charms which is made from mostly oat flour, but does not contain any other gluten. My stomach did not like. Eating a granola bar or putting some granola in my yogurt however doesn’t seem to bother me. So I say oats in small amounts only.

  3. cookie says:

    I tried, but i reacted all 3 times to gluten free certified oats.

  4. El says:

    For me, it is a fiber issue. My diet is gluten free and low fiber. I can eat a small amount of gf oats.

  5. Flora says:

    @El
    I agree, oats are an easy way to get fiber! And they make baking cookies and crisps so much tastier and a bit healthier 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

