Fall Favorites : Apple Recipes

Leave a comment

September 25, 2011 by Flora Dawn

The kids are back in school and the leaves are turning colors. Ready or not folks, it is officially Fall!

Of course if you go to my local Target store, you’ll think we skipped Fall altogether and went straight to winter, as the school supplies have been removed and in their place is now twinkling Christmas lights and colorful ornaments.

Regardless of what the retailers would like me to focus on, I am simply going to enjoy fall and all its wonderful flavors. The return to slow cooked, comfort foods, and beautiful fall colors, is a reminder we should just slow down and enjoy life. I, for one, plan on taking plenty of nature walks with my preschooler (crunchy leaving and spotting wildlife), going to the pumpkin patch for a hayride, and pulling out my slow cooker once again.

In honor of autumn, I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite apple recipes. You see, I really like apples. You might have been a keen observer and already gathered this from my apple-themed blog header. My all-time favorite baking apple is the Granny Smith, but there are many crisp varieties available that are perfect for baking, depending on where you live. If you don’t already have a favorite, now is a great time to discover one.

I recently read that the average apple at the grocery store is 10 months old, not exactly appetizing. So, grab the apples while they are fresh from the orchard and take the time to whip up some tasty apple treats. Before you know it, it really will be time for gingerbread men and candy canes.

Freezer Apple Pie Filling

Apple Cider Doughnuts

Apple Snack Cake

Apple Muffins

Slow Cooker Applesauce

Dutch Baby Pancake

Apple Crisp with a Corn Flake Topping

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

