Lighter Alredo Sauce

1

August 22, 2011 by Flora Dawn

Like most other families, my family loves pasta with a creamy cheese sauce. However, with all the fat and calories, it’s a real treat for dinner.

I came across a slimmed down recipe for Fettuccine Alfredo in a Food Network Magazine and it looked so tasty I decided to adapt it to be gluten-free. It was an instant hit at my house!

I didn’t really want to refer to this as Light Alfredo Sauce, since it still is rather indulgent; however, this version uses a moderate amount of butter and cheese and no cream, so I like to think of it as a Lighter Alfredo Sauce. And although it still has plenty of fat and calories, it’s way better for you than traditional recipes, and tastes just as good.

This is a really nice and creamy sauce, with plenty of flavor. I used a three cheese blend, but you could use all Parmesan if you preferred. But, please, not the stuff that comes in the green can. You want the real cheese. I think you could stir in some roasted veggies or maybe some small, cooked shrimp right before serving if you wanted a more filling main course.

Although I am sure someone makes it, I didn’t have gluten-free fettuccine noodles, so I just used spaghetti noodles. We thought it worked fine.

Lighter Alfredo Sauce

You might notice in the pictures that I sprinkled chopped fresh parsley on ours; but honestly, I think it was better without it, so I left it out of the recipe.

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 cup milk (I used 2%)
  • 3 tablespoons Neufchatel or low-fat cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup grated cheese (I used a blend of Asiago, Romano, and Parmesan)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 12 ounces pasta, cooked according to package directions
  1. Cook the sauce according to package directions. Meanwhile, make the sauce by melting the butter in a skillet over medium heat (a nonstick pans works great). Add the garlic and cook until slightly soft, but not burned, about 1 minute. Add the cornstarch and stir until dissolved.  Add the milk and bring to a boil, stirring constantly until thickened, about three minutes. Lower heat and add the cream cheese and grated cheeses and stir until melted and smooth. Remove from heat and taste; and add salt and pepper if desired.
  2. Pour cooked and drained pasta into the skillet, and gently toss to coat evenly. Serve immediately. (Although we did reheat leftovers the next day, the texture was off. No one complained, but it’s definitely best the day it is made)

 


Slightly Indulgent

One thought on “Lighter Alredo Sauce

  1. Evie says:

    Clara loves pasta if it has a cheesey or alfredo sauce on it. I’ll have to give this version a try and see how she likes it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

