Cantaloupe Smoothie

4

July 31, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I am not much of a morning person. So, other than the occasional weekend breakfast, I simply grab a piece of fruit or a yogurt in the morning before starting my day.

One thing I do “make” on a busy weekday morning is a smoothie. They are super easy and healthy too. Kids seem to have mixed feeling about smoothies, I know plenty of kids that love them, but my kids aren’t huge smoothie fans. I think this could be due to the fact I try to make mine really healthy, aka no added sugar. But, I have found they are more likely to enjoy a smoothie if it isn’t too sour.

The best smoothies start with the best fruit. Using really fresh, sweet fruit (in this case cantaloupe) will produce a really sweet smoothie. Also, the type of yogurt you use will effect the final product. I opted for some Honey& Strawberry Greek Yogurt I had in the fridge. It’s nice and thick, so the smoothie doesn’t get too runny and the honey adds just enough sweetness. However, you could just use regular Greek style yogurt and add a tablespoon or so honey, sugar, maple syrup, etc if needed.

Cantaloupe may not seem like the most obvious smoothie choice, but we really enjoyed this version. And since the recipe only requires a cup of melon, it’s a great way to use up some leftovers.

I think adding bananas, mangoes, or some coconut water would be a great way to turn this into a tropical treat, perfect for a hot summer day.

Cantaloupe Smoothie

Makes 2 servings

  • 1 cup cubed cantaloupe
  • 1/2 cup Greek style yogurt (I used honey & strawberry flavor)
  • about 1 cup crushed ice
  1. Add all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cantaloupe Smoothie

  1. I’m a morning smoothie person too, Flora! This cantaloupe version is very good with coconut milk instead of yogurt…for the dairy free gang. Sometimes I’ll toss in a banana, too. I freeze them in chunks and can omit the ice cubes that way 🙂

    • Flora says:

      I agree about the frozen fruit. I think it tastes better without the ice too, but then I have to plan ahead 🙂 Thanks for the coconut milk suggestion, I think that is a great idea for those dairy-free!

  2. Danielle Phillips says:

    Hi Flora, My husband just came home with a box full of cantaloupe. We are only home of three so I know we won’t eat all that. Also a case of bananas. We had strawberries from last time he brought some from work. We have frozen those. I made a smoothie with the banana and strawberry’s and he said, “I bet you can do that with the cantaloupe too.” I searched the internet and found your post here. 😀 I noticed also that you are about gluten free foods. I’ll be visiting often because from what I understand gluten free is suggested for children with ADHD and I have been working on loosing weight also. So eating healthy is important for both of us. Hubby is another matter. He can eat a full plate of desserts at a buffet an not a gain an ounce. It is so unfair lol. He don’t care for healthy food much even though he has training for a nutritionist. Thankfully we all love fruit and veggies. My daughter is a rare 6 year old when it comes to that. She don’t care for meet so we have to find other ways get her the protein she needs. A high protein diet is also recommended for her. Thank you for the website, I am gonna go check what other goodies you have for us. 😀

    • Flora says:

      Hi Danielle, glad you found and enjoy my site. I have also read that ADHD can be improved by diet, however, I have no experience in this. I know there are some cookbooks available on the topic though. Good luck finding a healthy diet the whole family can enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,982 hits

Archives

Categories

