Roasted Vegetables with Feta

1

April 26, 2011 by Flora Dawn

One of my favorite ways to cook vegetables is roasting. Not only are they easy to prepare, but they taste great.

Roasting really brings out the sweetness in the vegetables, an attribute that is typically popular with the kids in the house. Of course, I love the flavor, too.

Earlier this week I saw some beautiful organic zucchini on sale, I bought it without a plan on how to use it.

Ultimately I decided to roughly chop it, add some other veggies, toss it with olive oil, and roast it until nicely browned…and then (here comes the good part) I sprinkled on some feta cheese and baked a few more minutes until the cheese was slightly browned and melted.

If you love feta and love vegetables, this is a dish for you. Seriously, the flavors are sublime. Even my kids ate their zucchini.

We at it as a side dish with grilled steak, but I also think this you could also toss this with some warm pasta for a light salad, or even served with eggs…a roasted vegetable and feta omelet, yum!

If you really hate feta, I think Parmesan could work, but would obviously impart a different flavor.

Roasted Vegetables with Feta

There really is no need to measure anything exactly here and you could easily vary the vegetables; I think eggplant, small potatoes, or mushrooms would be good choices.

  • 2 small zucchini
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1/2 a bell pepper
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4-1/2 cup feta cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste, optional
  1. Preheat oven to 400 (or 375 convection).
  2. Roughly chop all vegetables. Toss with olive oil and salt and pepper if desired (I find feta plenty salty for my taste, but you may want more seasoning). Lay vegetables in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet or shallow pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven until vegetables are soft and slightly browned, about 20 minutes. Sprinkle with cheese and return to oven for about 5 minutes, or until cheese melts and begins to brown. Serve warm.

 

 


Slightly Indulgent

One thought on “Roasted Vegetables with Feta

  1. Lynn says:

    I make something like this a lot of times during the summer, but I add pasta. I love the flavor of roasted vegetables and this looks really good.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

