Mango-Peach Upside-Down Cake

4

April 13, 2011 by Flora Dawn

We love pineapple upside-down cake at my house, so when one of my husband’s coworkers sent me a recipe for gluten-free mango upside down cake I knew I had to give it a try. It sounded like a nice twist to an old classic.

In the midst of preparing the cake, I decided a 10-ounce bag of frozen mangoes wasn’t really enough fruit, so I made the impromptu decision to add a small can of peaches. This tasted great, however I think if you had enough mangoes (or enough peaches for that matter) one fruit would work just as well.

In true upside-down cake fashion, this cake is sweet, sticky, and oh so good. It uses a cake mix (I used Bob’s Vanilla) which makes the whole thing easy to throw together.

Unlike traditional upside cakes that are cooked in a cast iron skillet, making them next to impossible to flip over, this one is baked in a standard 9×13 pan. I use glass and it released beautifully. You will need a large platter to invert the cake and serve it. I didn’t think about this part until after my cake was in the oven and then I started panicking. I soon realized my rimmed baking sheet was the perfect size, so all was well.

I threw in some coconut rum because I had some in the cupboard; and I think it added a nice tropical rum flavor, however you could use plain rum or a teaspoon or two or rum flavoring if desired. Actually, the cake would be fine without any rum flavor at all, so no need to run to the liquor store. Overall, you need 1/2 cup liquid; I used 1/4 juice + 2 TB rum +2 TB water; but you could use all water, all juice…okay so maybe not all rum! 🙂

Enjoy!

Mango-Peach Upside Down Cake

A slice of the Upside Down cake!

Mango-Peach Upside-Down Cake

I adapted the directions on the cake mix to make it egg-free and it tasted great! However you could simply prepare the cake mix as directed and pour over the sugar/fruit mixture if desired (this is probably the easiest way to adapt this to be dairy-free as well).

  • 1 10-ounce package frozen mango chunks
  • 1 15-ounce can peach slices, drained (juice reserved)
  • 1 stick butter, divided
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (light or dark will work)
  • 1 package gluten-free vanilla cake mix (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 TB coconut rum, optional
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice, reserved peach juice or water
  • 2 TB water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt or sour cream
  1. Preheat oven to 350. In a small saucepan, melt 6 tablespoons of the butter add the brown sugar and stir to dissolve. Pour this mixture into the bottom of a 9×13 pan and spread to coat bottom of pan. (Alternatively, you can not dirty another dish, but rather throw the butter and brown sugar into the 9×13 pan and let melt in the oven while it’s preheating; just don’t forget it)
  2. Arrange fruit on top of sugar mixture.
  3. Melt remaining 2 tablespoons of butter. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add the cake mix, vanilla, rum, juice, water, applesauce, yogurt and 2 TB melted butter. Mix for about 30 seconds on low speed. Increase the speed to medium and continue to mix for 1 minute. Pour cake batter over fruit and bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes or until center tests clean.
  4. Let cake cool for 5 minutes. Place rimmed baking sheet on top of cake pan, and carefully (using trusty hot pads/oven mits) flip the pan over and let cake release entirely onto the baking sheet. Serve warm or at room temperature.
4 thoughts on “Mango-Peach Upside-Down Cake

  1. Evie R. says:

    This looks so yummy. It is too bad I can’t have it 😦

  2. Flora says:

    @Evie R.
    Maybe use some other fruit?

  3. Evie R. says:

    I’m not sure any other non-pitted fruits would work very well. I’ve only seen peach or pineapple upside down cake. Mangos have a really similar texture to peaches, so I think that is why they worked so well. I might just have to still with pineapple.

  4. Flora says:

    @Evie R.
    I’ve seen recipes for upside–down cakes with berries, rhubarb, apples and pears (not necessarily all together of course). I’ve never tried them, but I think apples and pears would be great!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

