Breads · Main Dishes

Gluten Free Pizza Crust III

I already have two other pizza crusts posted, but I kept trying recipes, and I must admit my family has a new favorite that I thought I should share.

The recipe is based on a King Arthur Flour recipe. I have used multiple different brown rice flour blends (all without gums) and they have all worked beautifully in this recipe. All-Purpose GF Flour and Brown Rice Flour Blend are both posted if you need a blend recipe. I don’t worry about using a superfine brown rice flour for pizza crust, I think the coarseness actually adds to the texture; but I know a lot of people disagree 🙂

You will need a stand mixer to make this dough, I am not sure mixing it by hand would really work and he dough is really soft, almost like cake batter, which doesn’t make it super fun to handle (and impossible to knead). Oil on the pan and plenty of flour blend or cornstarch on your hands really helps though.

It also takes a while to make as it has the traditional rest times before baking, but I think this really creates the authentic pizza crust flavor and texture lacking in so many gluten-free crusts.

The recipe makes 2 crusts, enough to feed a family or freeze a crust for later; but you could certainly halve the recipe if desired.

A slice of carmelized onion pizza!

 

Gluten Free Pizza Crust III

Makes 2 12-inch pizza crusts

  • 3 cups  brown rice flour blend
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk powder or nonfat dry milk powder
  • 2 tablespoon sugar or honey
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 3 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 2 cup warm water (about 100 F)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (for dough)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided (for pans)
  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer combine all the dry ingredients except yeast. Stir to combine.
  2. In a small bowl combine yeast, water and oil; stir to combine. Add about 1 cup of the dry mixture and stir to mix (it will be very lumpy, that’s okay). Allow the mixture to rest for about 15 minutes or until mixture is bubbly and smells yeasty.
  3. Pour the yeast mixture into the dry ingredients and mix on medium speed (about 4 on a Kitchenaid stand mixer) for 4 minutes. The mixture will be very thick and sticky (much like a cake batter). Scrape down the sides of the bowl, cover with a towel or plastic wrap, and let rise for 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat oven to 425. Generously grease 2 baking sheets or 12″ pizza pans, leaving a puddle (about 1/2 tablespoon) of oil in the middle.
  5. Scoop out approximately half of the batter and gently place on the puddle of oil. Using generously “floured” or oiled hands, gently press the dough into approximately a 12″ circle. Repeat with remaining half of dough.
  6. Let dough rest, uncovered, 10-15 minutes. (If you are really impatient you can skip this final rest). Bake the crust in the preheated oven for 8-10 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven and top partially baked crust as desired. Return to oven and finish baking; about 10-15 minutes, depending on toppings. The crust should be browned and the cheese should be melted and bubbling. If you want a crisp crust, remove the pizza from the pan and bake directly on the oven rack for the final 2-3 minutes of baking.
  8. Remove from oven and cut into wedges; serve warm.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pizza Crust III

  1. I am wondering, what does the baking powder do? And also, why do you use instant yeast?

    I saw on another pizza crust recipe that I haven’t tried that a possible substitute for the milk powder is ground almonds or Vance’s Dari-Free powder.

    1. Baking powder is needed for the texture as this recipe doesn’t use eggs.

      I always use SAF instant yeast. Here is a link http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/saf-red-instant-yeast-16-oz I actually buy it from my local grocery store though.

      I have also heard of the Vance’s dairy substitute, but I haven’t used it myself. If you can’t have dairy, it might be a good alternative. Dairy seems to add a lot of moisture and helps gluten-free baked goods stay together.

Leave a comment