Brown Rice Flour Blend

2

April 6, 2011 by Flora Dawn

It’s no secret I love King Arthur Flour. Their products are great, their catalog is like a Christmas Wish Book for the home baker (and it comes multiple times a year!), and their recipes are reliable.

So when they came out with gluten free products I was so excited. They have numerous recipe on their website and although they sell a gluten-free flour blend, they also offer a recipe for a flour blend that can be used in it’s place.

This is the ratio to make your own Brown Rice Flour Blend (I strongly dislike the taste of tapioca starch so I use cornstarch or arrowroot starch in it’s place). I especially like this flour blend for pizza crust and flat breads.

Brown Rice Flour Blend

  • 6 cups (32 ounces) brown rice flour
  • 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch
  • 1 cup (4.5 ounces) cornstarch or arrowroot starch
  1. In a resealable bag or bowl, combine all ingredients. Seal container/bag and shake to blend thoroughly.
2 thoughts on “Brown Rice Flour Blend

  1. Dineen says:

    I think you’re the first person I’ve come across who shares my family’s dislike for the taste of tapioca starch. It seems the manioc root flavor overpowers whatever it is in. Thankfully my experiments with it were one box of Chebe on sale and a small box of the starch found in a Latino grocery for just a couple of dollars.

    • Flora says:

      It “might” depend on the brand of tapioca starch, I have not kept trying them; I just know we’ve disliked the ones I’ve used at my house. You’re lucky you only wasted a couple dollars! I purchased a 25 pound bag of tapioca starch when we first went gluten-free…I still have it in my freezer 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,902 hits

Archives

Categories

