Meatless Monday-Spinach Ricotta Pizza

2

April 4, 2011 by Flora Dawn

Pizza, it’s a family favorite across the country. But for some reason, my family typically eats the very meat laden versions. You know the kind: sausage, pepperoni, Canadian bacon, BBQ chicken, etc.

So I thought it was time to make a meatless pizza. My family already eats spinach without much complaint, so it seemed like an obvious choice.

Here is our version of Spinach Ricotta Pizza, based on a King Arthur Flour recipe. It is really good and a nice change from our typical pizza toppings; it actually reminded me of the filling to a spinach ravioli. However, I must admit my 4 year old was less than impressed and refused to eat anything other than the crust. Some flavors like cooked spinach and ricotta are probably best suited for an older crowd I guess.

I chose to just wilt the spinach, but you could chop it if desired.

I know gluten-free crusts are readily available in the freezer section of most grocery stores, but I have a couple gluten-free pizza crusts posted if you need a recipe (Easy Pizza Crust and Thick Crust Pizza). And tomorrow I am posting yet another one. I know, I know. But we have a new favorite that I just have to share šŸ™‚ Besides, everyone has a different interpretation of “perfect crust” so it’s nice to have some variety.

Spinach Ricotta Pizza

 

 

Spinach Ricotta Pizza (topping)

  • Your favorite 12-inch pizza crust
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 3 teaspoons pizza seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 5 ounces baby spinach
  • dash of salt
  1. Preheat oven and grease 1 pizza pan. Prepare the dough and let rise while you make topping (for gluten-free crust I highly suggest partially baking it for 10 minutes before topping).
  2. In a medium bowl, combine ricotta, cheese and pizza seasoning; stir until well mixed.
  3. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat; add spinach and dash of salt and cook until just wilted. Transfer to a strainer to drain off any excess moisture.
  4. Brush crust with olive oil and evenly spread the ricotta mixture over crust; top with spinach and bake in oven until browned and crisp (about 10-12 more minutes for a partially baked crust). Slice into wedges and serve warm.


 

 

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday-Spinach Ricotta Pizza

  1. Evie R. says:

    Have you used much fresh mozzarella? I bought some for a ravioli filling I made and used the extra in lasagna. I thought it would be good on pizza, but it doesn’t shred. I’m not sure if cutting it into chunks would make the cheese to clumpy on pizza, rather than melty all over. Does that make sense?

    • Flora says:

      I typically buy the small “pearls” and just slice them, but you could do this with the large, fresh mozzarella too. It is really soft, so you’re right, grating it isn’t an option. But the sliced rounds work fine on pizza and I think it tastes completely different than the rubbery cheese we call mozzarella.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

