Cooking Tip- Feta Cheese

3

March 31, 2011 by Flora Dawn

Feta cheese is a crumbly, white cheese common in Greek dishes. It was originally made from sheep’s milk, but in America it is typically a cow’s milk cheese.

It is salt brined, and I always thought I hated it, because the few times I tried to use it for dishes, it was way to salty. My sister told me to try a different brand, that not all feta it too salty. I was so confused, but she was right.

So, I know not all feta is too salty, but sometimes it is, sometimes it isn’t; this information is not exactly helpful at 5 o’clock when I am throwing together a pizza or pasta salad.

I was so happy when I read a tip that suggested opening and tasting feta the day before you plan on using it. This allows you to adjust the flavor some. If it is too acidic or salty you can rinse it under tap water, strain it, and soak it in milk overnight in the fridge. Of course strain it before using.

If it is too mellow for your tastes, you can sharpen it by soaking it in the fridge overnight in a brine or saltwater; 1 tablespoon salt for every 1 cup of water. Again, strain before using the feta.

Ta da! How simple is that. Perfect feta every time. Now I can buy feta cheese without worrying that I might be wasting my money on it!

3 thoughts on “Cooking Tip- Feta Cheese

  1. Evie R. says:

    For the most part, I actually like Feta 🙂 I’ll eat in on salads and Gyros. However, sometimes I’ve noticed it is way too salty. This is a great tip! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Alexander Zilo says:

    What a revelation ! I always thought the feta was always made with goat cheese ! Buyer be aware !

  3. Flora says:

    @Alexander Zilo
    For some reason a lot of people I know have assumed feta is a goat cheese. Kind of funny it’s actually a sheep’s milk cheese.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

