Spaghetti with Bacon

1

March 24, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I keep seeing all these spaghetti with bacon recipes, but honestly, bacon in my red sauce doesn’t sound all the great to me. My family, on the other hand, is part of the “bacon makes everything better” campaign, so I decided I would give it a try.

Okay, so I was pleasantly surprised. Spaghetti with bacon is actually very tasty.

I opted to go with a smoked, nitrate-free bacon.(If you want to get a short summary on why nitrates/nitrites are supposedly bad here’s a brief article). I haven’t been a huge fan of the nitrate-free cured bacon, but the apple wood smoked tasted great; and it added a nice smokey flavor to the sauce. I only used 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes because mine are really hot, but depending on your preference and brand you might need more or less.

My whole family loved dinner, even my youngest who has been quite temperamental with food lately.

So, here’s my version of Spaghetti with Bacon. I can’t make any promises, but it was a huge hit at my house!

The picture below is of my youngest daughter’s dinner plate, complete with a broken up mozzarella cheese stick (for those of you wondering what that was in the background).

Spaghetti with Bacon!

Spaghetti with Bacon

Crushed tomatoes and/or tomato sauce could be used in place of the chunky tomato sauce; I just think that chunky tomato sauce is a nice compromise.

  • 8 ounces smoked bacon, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 (28 ounce) can chunky tomato sauce
  • 1 TB chopped fresh basil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 12 ounces spaghetti (Jovial is my absolute favorite gf brand), cooked and drained
  • shredded Parmesan cheese, optional for garnish
  1. In a large skillet, over medium heat, cook bacon pieces until browned and beginning to crisp. Drain on a paper-towel lined plate.
  2. Pour off all but 1-2 TB of bacon fat (if you have that much, my bacon didn’t produce a lot of drippings) and add the onions, stirring often and cook until lightly browned and softened, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and pepper flakes and continue to cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in tomato sauce and basil ; reduce heat to low and simmer for 15-20 minutes or until flavors blend. (This is a great time to cook the pasta) Taste and season with salt and pepper as needed.
  3. Add the bacon to the sauce and stir to combine. Pour sauce over pasta and top with grated cheese if desired.
One thought on “Spaghetti with Bacon

  1. Karin Goodman says:

    I was not sure about spagetti with bacon. I love spagetti, and I love bacon, but together?? We went to Pastini for dinner and my son ordered some. It had a white sauce on it and it was very very good. I think I will have to try it now. Thanks for all the wonderful receipes.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

