Chocolate Banana Bread

3

March 22, 2011 by Flora Dawn

Sometimes I get carried away buying those sale ripe banana bags in the produce section. It’s just organic bananas for 30 cents a pound, that’s a steal!

Well, there are only so many delicious ways I know to use up really ripe bananas, and as they began to turn from yellow with brown dots, to mostly brown, I knew I had to start baking.

I made my typical Banana Cupcakes and also thought chocolate banana bread sounded good. Believe it or not I have never made a chocolate banana bread; sure I have made banana bread with some chocolate chips, but not a chocolate banana quick bread.

I looked over a few recipes and came up with a version that is not only gluten-free, but tastes great. I made it egg-free simply because I have discovered eggs aren’t really necessary for fruit quick breads. Applesauce and flax really do the trick; which I think is great because the bread has less cholesterol and added fiber! To make sure it had plenty of flavor I threw in chocolate chips and some chopped dried bananas. Okay, so the chopped, dried bananas didn’t add much; but we can’t eat tree nuts, so they added some extra texture.

This bread is gluten-free and egg-free, but you would never know it. It’s super moist and has a great texture from all the fruit and yogurt. I used regular old Hershey’s baking cocoa, so it had a very mild, pleasant chocolate flavor, nothing too overpowering or rich. But if you want it to be more decadent, a more expensive baking cocoa should do the trick.

We think it tastes great plain, even the next day. But some butter, cream cheese, or a simple chocolate icing drizzled on top would all be delicious options. This is a new favorite at our house and I am sure it will make great muffins as well. This recipe makes two large loaves, but I think it should freeze fine if wrapped well.

Chocolate Banana Bread

A slice of Chocolate Banana Bread.

Chocolate Banana Bread

makes 2 loaves

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 TB flaxseed meal mixed with 6 TB hot tap water
  • 5 ripe bananas
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 1/3 cups white rice flour
  • 2/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened baking cocoa
  • 1 cup sour cream or Greek-style plain yogurt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried banana chips (or walnuts), optional
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease two 9×5 loaf pans.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Add applesauce, flaxseed, banana, and vanilla.
  3. Sift in dry ingredients and stir to combine. Stir in sour cream, chocolate chips and banana chips or nuts if using. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake for about 60 minutes or until center tests clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans; allow to cool completely on rack.

 

 


Slightly Indulgent

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Evie R. says:

    You are making me hungry 🙂 Too bad we rarely have overly ripe bananas around. I have to hide them from Kenny in order for them to hang around long enough to ripen for banana breads, muffins, and cakes!

  2. Brenda says:

    OK, call me crazy, but I don’t see any amount of banana listed in this recipe. How much did you use? Thanks!

    • Flora says:

      I’m so sorry, thank you for letting me know I omitted that important ingredient. The recipe is fixed now. I use 5 average size bananas in this recipe.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,902 hits

Archives

Categories

