Quinoa Bean Salad

3

March 11, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I am always on the lookout for new quick and healthy dinner ideas, so when I spotted a quinoa salad in an issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray I just had to try it. It’s a 5-ingredient meal recipe sent in by a reader. (They consider salt, pepper and oil “freebies,” so they don’t count towards the five ingredients.)

I kept the ingredients the same, but I did change their ratios quite a bit. I halved the dressing, as we aren’t too fond of soggy quinoa at my house and I cut back on the basil.

The salad is winner! It really is a bright and flavorful dish, and with quinoa and beans it’s actually quite filling. Not only does it taste great, but it is super quick to throw together on a busy weeknight, especially if you have leftover cooked quinoa in the fridge.

We think this makes the perfect meatless dinner or lunch; and leftovers taste great because the salad really absorbs the citrus dressing.

So next time you need dinner in a hurry, Quinoa Bean Salad might be just the meal to make.

A bowl of Quinoa Bean Salad.

Quinoa Bean Salad

I think black beans or pinto beans would also work well in this salad.

  • 1-20 ounce can kidney beans, drained
  • about 2 cups cooked and cooled quinoa
  • 1/4 cup finely diced red onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil leaves
  • the juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a large bowl mix together beans, quinoa, onion and basil. In a small bowl, whisk together the lemon juice and oil. Pour dressing over salad and stir to mix thoroughly; taste and season with salt and pepper if desired. Serve at room temperature or chilled.

 

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Bean Salad

  1. Alison says:

    MMmm! This salad looks amazing! I’ve been wanting to try quinoa for a while and just haven’t gotten to it yet. I think this will be the recipe I will start with! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Flora says:

    @Alison
    Personally, I find quinoa kind of bland tasting by itself; so I think making a salad with a flavorful dressing is definitely the way to go!

  3. anonymous says:

    Gotta love the Bean Salad This reminds me of some of the food I saw on Extreme Chef where the contestants cooked the fish that they hunted on an island. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Extreme-Chef/195324160502642 Totally organic and delish! Great job!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Archives

Categories

