Baked Tortilla Cups

4

March 9, 2011 by Flora Dawn

We eat a lot of corn tortillas at our house, which can get a bit boring. So the other night I decided to get creative and make something slightly different with my store bought tortillas.

I sprayed some non-stick spray into various bowls and ramekins and inserted one softened tortilla into each dish. I sprayed again and baked until crisp. Instant, edible tortilla bowls.

I have seen a similar thing done in recipes, but you drape the corn tortilla over an inverted dish. I am guessing this method would work as well, but seemed to me like the tortilla might fall off the dish.

I realize you can buy fancy molds made especially for this purpose, but who has the kitchen space for all these gadgets?

We used Baked Tortilla Cups as the bowl for chicken tostados, but I think they could also be used for a thick taco soup or chili (although I haven’t actually tried this yet). I am also thinking if you brushed the tortillas with butter and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar they would be a great edible cup for a fruit salsa or yogurt. I think most kids would enjoy this for a snack or breakfast.

Baked Tortilla Cups, a healthy and fun way to eat corn tortillas…and they are super cute!

Small glass dishes, greased.

Corn tortillas placed into dishes.

Chicken Tostados served in Baked Tortilla Cups.

 

 

Baked Tortilla Cups

  • corn tortillas
  • oil or non-stick spray
  • ramekins or small oven-safe bowls
  1. Preheat oven to 375. Oil or spray bowls and place on a baking sheet.
  2. Wrap tortillas in a damp paper towel and place on a plate, microwave for about 1 minute, or until soft and pliable. Place one tortilla into each prepared bowl and bake in preheated oven about 10 minutes or until crisp. Carefully remove tortilla cups from the bowls and use as desired.

 

 

 


Slightly Indulgent

4 thoughts on “Baked Tortilla Cups

  1. Rhonda says:

    Clever girl! These are so cute, and look pretty tasty, too 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    I love this idea! We also eat alot or tortillas at our house – this would be a wonderfu wayl to change it up a bit. I amy try this tonight! I saw your link at Slight Indulent Tuesdays.

  3. Christine says:

    I love it! That is such a great idea. I think I will try doing this next time we have something that requires tortillas!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,398 hits

Archives

Categories

