Some New Products

Leave a comment

March 5, 2011 by Flora Dawn

 

I know I typically post recipes, but I have tried a couple gluten-free products recently that were too good to keep to myself.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but sweet potato fries rock! I mean seriously, how can a sweet potato taste so good? I am not much of a frozen french fry kinda gal, but Ore-Ida has some awesome new Sweet Potato Fries, that even my sweet potato-hating husband likes.

We were all sick recently and doing some grocery shopping, and I made an impulsive decision to check out the freezer aisle because I was in no mood to cook. And there they were, New Ore-Ida Sweet Potato Fries. And to be honest, they are the first frozen sweet potato fries I have seen that are labeled gluten-free. Most of them have questionable ingredients or clearly state they are processed on equipment with wheat. And since they are a major brand, your typical, neighborhood grocery store will most likely be carrying these (and at a reasonable price)!

And in case you were wondering, yes, I have made my own sweet potato fries. But I do plan on keeping a bag or two of these Ore-Ida ones in my freezer for days when I need a little help 🙂

The second product is Jovial brand pasta. It is organic, gluten-free, brown rice pasta (you want the green boxes, the brown isn’t gluten-free).  According the packaging, the pasta is made in Tuscany and pressed with bronze dies at low temperatures for the most authentic flavor. I have no idea what bronze dies and low temperatures have to do with anything, but I do know this is by far the best tasting gluten-free pasta I have made at home. It  really does have the taste and texture of regular pasta, and an 8 minute cooking time!

And if you have multiple food issues in your household, it’s nice to know it is made in a dedicated facility free of gluten, casein, eggs, tree nuts and peanuts. I found Jovial pasta at one of my local grocery stores. Although I am not sure how available it is nationwide, their website has a store locator search (also, you can find Jovial Pasta on Amazon for a nice price). We have tried the spaghetti and the caserecce and loved them both.

It’s great to see more and more great tasting, convenient gluten-free items hit the market!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

