No Bake Chocolate Cherry Clusters

1

February 25, 2011 by Flora Dawn

We’ve had a snow storm this week, so I have been bored and baking. Okay, I must confess, in Oregon we use words like “snow storm” very loosely. In reality, we only had a couple inches at best in the metro-area, but all the schools and activities have been canceled and we have had near 24-hour “severe weather coverage” from the local media.

We’ve been at home the last couple of days, and with more than a few magazine and cookbooks to occupy myself with, you can imagine I found things to bake. I was flipping through an issue of Everyday Foods and found a recipe for what they call Chocolate-Cherry Clusters. They are basically a no bake cookie for grown-ups. And with just three ingredients, these sounded like the easiest cookies ever.

Since I had everything in my pantry (cornflakes, dried cherries, and chocolate) I was able to whip up a batch in no time. I used dark chocolate, since I thought it sounded better with the cherries than bittersweet or semisweet, but I am sure those would work as well. If you are making these gluten-free, I would really suggest you use an unsweetened variety, as these cookies are plenty sweet already; and for some reason most gluten-free cornflakes are really sweet. I know Erewhon makes an unsweetened cornflake.

Other than melting the chocolate, there is no baking or heating involved; making this the perfect recipe for a kid of new baker to make all by themselves. They aren’t the prettiest of cookies, but they are tasty and super easy!

You could use this basic idea to turn different cereal and dried fruit combos into cookie clusters. I noticed my sister Lynn made her own version of this recipe and posted about it too!

No Bake Chocolate Cherry Clusters.

No Bake Chocolate Cherry Clusters

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

  • 3 cups gluten-free cornflakes
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 1 bag dark chocolate chips (I like Guittard Extra Dark Chocolate Chips)
  1. In a large bowl, using your hands or the bottom of a measuring cup, smash the cornflakes into pieces. Add the cherries and toss to mix.
  2. Place the chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl and heat in 30 second intervals, stirring as needed, until melted and smooth. Pour the melted chocolate over the cornflake mixture and stir until completely coated.
  3. Drop by heaping teaspoons onto parchment paper lined baking sheets (or waxed paper or silpat mats). Allow to set for about 1 hour. I set them in the refrigerator of freezer to speed up this process; they taste good at room temperature or chilled.
One thought on “No Bake Chocolate Cherry Clusters

  1. Lynn says:

    My whole family loved these.They were so easy and so good. They are a great cookie for kids to make since they are so easy.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,953 hits

Archives

Categories

