Apple Snack Cake

2

February 22, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I baked up an apple cake the other day and it tasted very familiar. It reminded me of an apple cake my mom used to make when I was a kid, only she called it Raw Apple Cake. I am guessing the name is due to all the chopped up raw apples it contains.

I am just going to call my version Apple Snack Cake because I find the name more appealing, even though I am not exactly sure what  truly constitutes a “snack cake.”

I do know that this recipe makes up a really moist and flavorful apple cake, literally bursting with bites of apples. It is dense though, so if you are looking for a boxed-cake type of texture, this isn’t the recipe for you. This is really an old-fashioned, fruit-laden, cake that doesn’t require frosting; however a crumb topping  (perhaps like the one I use for blueberry buckle) or a dollop of whipped cream would be delicious choices.

I am not going to claim this cake is health food, but with applesauce, and 3 cups of diced apples, it is loaded with fruit. If your family likes apples, chances are Apple Snack Cake will be a hit at your house too!

I used a nice eating apple and I felt this was plenty of sugar. But if you use a really tart variety of apple, you might want to increase the sugar a bit.

A slice of Apple Snack Cake.

Apple Snack Cake

Although it’s great plain, pecans, walnuts, raisins, or even cinnamon baking chips would be great additions to this cake.

  • 3 cups peeled, diced apples
  • 2 tsp cinnamon + 1/4 cup sugar, combined
  • 1 1/4 cups white rice flour
  • 1/4 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk
  1. Grease an 8 inch cake pan. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a small bowl toss apples with the cinnamon sugar mixture. Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of your stand mixer, combine remaining ingredients. Mix on low speed for 30 seconds, increase speed to medium and mix for 1 1/2 minutes. Gently stir in apples and pour batter into prepared pan. Bake until cake pulls away from the sides and center tests clean, about 40-45 minutes. We think the cake tastes great served warm from the oven or chilled in the refrigerator.
2 thoughts on “Apple Snack Cake

  1. Sophie says:

    I love this tasty apple cake! I added cinnamon & crushed pecans.

    It was delicious!! MMMMMMM,…!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Archives

Categories

