No Bake Cookies

1

February 16, 2011 by Flora Dawn

Cookies are fun to make and are typically the fist thing an aspiring baker will try to make all by themselves. At my house growing up, my two older sisters loved making cookies and made countless batches of No Bake Cookies.

No Bake Cookies require only a  few ingredients and cook entirely on the stove top, making them super easy and super fast. And what young chef doesn’t like that combo? Well, and they have chocolate, that helps. So, I figured today I would post our favorite recipe for No Bake Cookies.

Although there are many versions, the basic recipe is always the same; so my recipe for No Bake Cookies isn’t exactly novel (I actually think it is fairly close to the one we made growing up). They are sweet, shiny, and a quick way to get your chocolate fix, all without ever turning the oven on.

If  you want these to be a little less sweet, you can cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 cups or so. You could also add more or less peanut butter, add vanilla or coconut, etc. The only way these go wrong is if you significantly under or over bake them, and they’ll still taste good, but the texture will be off. You really want to set a timer once it starts boiling.

A stack of No Bake Cookies!

No Bake Cookies

Be sure to use quick oats here.

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups quick-cooking gf oats
  1. In a medium size saucepan bring sugar, cocoa, butter, and milk to a rapid boil (one you can’t stir down), stirring frequently; boil for 2 minutes.
  2. Remove from heat and add peanut butter and oats; stir to combine.
  3. Working quickly, drop by tablespoon onto waxed paper and let cool.(I refrigerate them, because they set up faster and I like the way they taste cold).
One thought on “No Bake Cookies

  1. Rhonda says:

    We love these! I’m sure my recipe uses more oats than yours does, your cookies look so much smoother than my do. They were always called Oatstacks or haystacks when I was a kid- and my kids always loved them too. I’ll have to try them with fewer oats next time around!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

