Flaxseed Meal to Replace Eggs

3

January 29, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I realize most people can and do eat eggs. But, let’s face it eggs are high in cholesterol and are best eaten in moderation. A lot of Americans suffer from diabetes, high cholesterol, and heart disease and are told to lower their cholesterol intake; so reducing egg consumption is important. However, people (myself included) don’t want weird textured or flavored foods. I had absolutely no idea how easy finding great egg substitutes would be.

My oldest daughter was recently diagnosed with an egg allergy. I am sure you can guess my reaction wasn’t exactly excitement. First gluten, then eggs. Baking is not exactly an easy task at my house anymore.

We aren’t entirely egg free as a household, but I am learning how to bake without eggs. My initial reaction was to simply use a packaged egg substitute, but I had mixed results in baked goods. So after searching for ideas, I found the best ideas from vegan sources. There are lots of things that can be used, but flaxseed meal is my favorite for most recipes.

Flaxseed has a wholegrain, almost nutty flavor that wouldn’t be appropriate for all foods. Flax will work best in really flavorful foods, like gingersnaps, banana or pumpkin muffins, chocolate cake, etc. I am starting to list flaxseed meal as an option in recipes I know this works well for, and I hope you try it. I think you’ll be surprised at the results!

In recipes that this flavor would compliment, replacing one or all of the eggs with flaxseed is a healthy options. Not only does it reduce the cholesterol in the final product, but it provides fiber and Omega 3. Seriously, egg free doesn’t have to be weird or oddly textured. I am finding many foods taste just as good, if not better with flax.

I prefer to buy the flaxseed meal already ground, I find it easier not to have to grind it myself. I store the flaxseeed meal in the refrigerator or freezer to keep it fresh. There are probably lots of brands available, but I buy this Bob’s Red Mill Golden Flaxseed Meal. It is very inexpensive and certified gluten free. And using only a tablespoon or two at a time, it will last a long time if properly stored.

1 tablespoon flaxseed meal + 3 tablespoons hot tap water, mixed together and allowed to cool several minutes, can replace one egg in most recipes.

3 thoughts on “Flaxseed Meal to Replace Eggs

  1. Rhonda D. says:

    Thanks for this Flora, I have wondered what to do as far as baking for relatives that have egg issues. Taste was always a concern,so I never had the gumption to experiment with flaxseed meal, but I will now.
    I know how you feel, two of us are GF and can’t use dairy and nuts now either. I think it’s killing me 😉

  2. Flora says:

    @Rhonda D.
    In foods, like sugar cookies or something you don’t to taste “nutty” or have the color of flax, Vegan Mayo works really well 3 TB = 1 egg. I think being dairy free would be a bit much for my family : )

  3. Kristin says:

    Great Post. I had this on my list of food “to-do’s” to find out how to substitute. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

