King Arthur Flour Bread Mix

6

January 14, 2011 by Flora Dawn

My egg free version of King Arthur Flour gluten free bread mix

So, you may have noticed I don’t do a lot of product reviews. I just find it is best to follows mom’s advice, “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Although I do purchase the occasional mix or prepackaged foods, in general I make things from scratch. I find the taste, texture and cost are more to my liking. However, I was grocery shopping the other day and noticed an large portion of a shelf devoted the King Arthur Flour gluten free mixes. I have already had excellent results with their flour blend (even though it contains tapioca flour which I dislike).

My oldest daughter, who happens to be allergic to a host of things, including nuts, wheat, and eggs, was with me and said “please.” King Arthur has a dedicated facility, not only gluten free, but also free of the top 8 food allergens. Basically, if you have food allergies, this is a dream come true. So, with some hesitation, we placed a box of the gluten free bread mix into our basket. I had mixed feelings for good reason. You see, the price was just shy of $9.00. Seriously, I have paid less for a pair of jeans.

The mix has really easy instructions, and you need to add butter or oil, water and 3 eggs. We replaced the eggs with some flax and vegan mayonnaise (2TB flax meal +6TB warm water =2 eggs and 3TB vegan mayo= 1 egg). We followed the directions and about 2 hours later we had the most amazing gluten free bread we have ever tried. Nothing even comes close to this bread. It has a very white bread taste and texture, that kids love. Of course, we did add some flax meal which added some additional flavor I am sure.

Seriously, I have attempted a LOT of gluten free yeast bread recipes, some pretty good. We have tasted the sandwich bread from local gluten free bakeries and several national brands; not to mention all the mixes we have attempted. Gritty, dry, bland, Styrofoam…these are the words that come to mind. But, none of those words could be used for the King Arthur bread. Even egg free, this the best we have tried.

It appears that if you can find it in a store (I have seen it at Whole Foods and New Seasons here in Oregon) it costs quite a bit more than if you buy it directly from King Arthur, where it is less than $7 a mix or buy 6 and it is discounted more. And if you sign up for their emails you’ll get promotional codes often for free shipping or 10% off, which makes it even more reasonable.

For people looking for really inexpensive gluten free bread, this is obviously not the best option. But for the busy parent who just needs to get a great tasting, gluten free loaf of bread on the table or in the lunchbox I think this is a real winner! Sure, it is expensive, but virtually everything certified gluten free is.

6 thoughts on “King Arthur Flour Bread Mix

  1. Evie R. says:

    I know how hard you’ve tried to get/make a decent gluten free bread, so I’m glad you found finally found a good one. Sorry it costs so much, I guess it will have to be a special treat!

  2. Ilene says:

    Hi Flora, sometimes you have to do something that is costly to get
    some good ideas or ways to do something cheaper in the long run. I am
    pretty sure you will find a way to make Great bread but a cheaper
    version, $9 a loaf for any bread it high, but if it was good and you
    used it all, none gone to wast, then it was worth it for you to
    learn how to make your own. Good luck.

  3. Lynn says:

    The bread looks really good. I have not seen the King Arthur gluten free mixes yet, but now I am going to have to look for them.

  4. Keri @ KAF says:

    Flora,

    Thank you so much for the awesome review! I’m going to pass this along to our bakers, because I’m sure they’ll want to try out your modified recipe. There are lots of people who can’t eat eggs, and I’m sure they’d be really excited to see this!

    Also, you can buy the bread mixes directly through our website. If you buy a single box they’re $6.95, but we also offer a set of six for $33.25, which works out to $5.54 a box. We’re temporarily out of stock for that specific mix, but it looks like they’re expected to be back in next week.

    As always, if you have any questions or if we can be of further assistance, please give us a call at 1-800-827-6836. Thanks again, and happy baking!

    Keri @ King Arthur Flour

  5. Rhonda D. says:

    Thanks for posting the review Flora, I love the King Arthur Flour catalog and have missed ordering from it. We have not tried their GF mix yet but may have to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

